

# **Clerk of the Appellate Courts**

Greg Pachmayr, Clerk • 317-232-1930 • courts.in.gov

## Notice of Election

First District Attorney Member Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission/Indiana Commission on Judicial Qualifications

#### August 14, 2024

Attorneys in good standing and admitted to the practice of law in Indiana who reside in the first geographic district for the Court of Appeals shall elect one member of the bar to serve on the Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission/Indiana Commission on Judicial Qualifications for a three-year term beginning January 1, 2025. See Ind. Code 33-27-2.

### **About the Commissions**

courts.in.gov/ojar/about/members

The Nominating Commission is responsible for evaluating judicial candidates and submitting a list of three nominees to the Governor for each vacancy on the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and Tax Court. The Qualifications Commission investigates complaints about judicial ethical misconduct.

### Eligibility to Run

To be eligible, a candidate must:

- 1. Have been admitted to the practice of law in Indiana, be registered with the Clerk of the Supreme Court, and be a resident of the first district;
- 2. Have been nominated by 30 attorneys admitted to the practice of law in Indiana, who reside in the first district, and who are registered with the Clerk of the Supreme Court; and
- 3. Make written consent to the nomination.

## Eligibility to Serve

The candidate elected to the Commission must:

- 1. Retain residency in the first district during the three-year term; and
- 2. Not hold any salaried public office or office in a political party or organization.

### **Nominations**

You may download and print the Nominating Petition Form to collect the 30 needed signatures. The original petition with the nominee's written consent and biography must be received **no** later than 4:00 p.m. (Eastern) on September 13, 2024.

### Election

On or before October 29, 2024, biographies of each candidate will be made available online, and all first district attorneys will receive notice by email that ballots are available.

The election will be conducted electronically. Attorneys residing in the first district may cast their ballot securely online until 4:00 p.m. (Eastern) on November 13, 2024.

### First District Counties

Bartholomew, Boone, Brown, Clark, Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Dubois, Fayette, Floyd, Fountain, Franklin, Gibson, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Hendricks, Henry, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Orange, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Sullivan, Switzerland, Union, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, Warrick, Washington and Wayne.