
In the 
Indiana Supreme Court 

In the Matter of the Approval of Local 
Rules for Monroe County 

Supreme Court Case No. 
24S-MS-269  

Order Approving Amended Local Rule 

The Judges of the Monroe Circuit Courts request the approval of an amended local rule 

for court reporter services in accordance with Administrative Rule 15. Attached to this Order is 

the proposed amended local rule.  

Upon examination of the proposed rule amendments requested by the Monroe Circuit 

Courts, this Court finds that the proposed rule amendments to LR53-AR00-0132 comply with 

Administrative Rule 15, and, accordingly, should be approved. 

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED by this Court that amended Local Rule, LR53-AR00-

0132, for the Monroe Circuit Courts, set forth as an attachment to this Order, is approved 

effective on the date of this Order. 

Done at Indianapolis, Indiana, on  ___________ . 

Loretta H. Rush 

Chief Justice of Indiana 

8/15/2024

Ashley Smith ISC
Manual File Stamp



 

LR53-AR00-0132 TRANSCRIPTS 
 

A. Definitions. The following definitions shall apply under this local rule: 
 

1. A Court Reporter is a person who is specifically designated by a court to perform the 
official court reporting services for the court including preparing a transcript of the 
record in a given case before the court. 

 
2. Equipment means all physical items owned by the court or other governmental 

entity used by a court reporter in performing court reporting services. Equipment 
shall include, but not be limited to, telephones, computer hardware, software 
programs, disks, tapes, and any other device used for recording, storing, and 
transcribing electronic data. 

 
3. Work space means that portion of the court’s facilities dedicated to each court 

reporter, including but not limited to, actual space in the courtroom and any 
designated office space. 

 
4. Page means the page unit of transcript which results when a recording is 

transcribed in the form required by Indiana Rule of Appellate Procedure Indiana 
Appellate Rule 28(A). 

 
5. Recording means the electronic, mechanical, stenographic, or other recording made as 

required by Indiana Rule of Trial Procedure 74. 
 

6. Regular hours worked means those hours which a division of the court is regularly 
scheduled to work during any given work week.  Depending on the schedule of the 
court and its flex schedule for court reporters, these hours may vary from division to 
division of the court, within the county but remain the same for each work week. 

 
7. Gap hours worked means those hours worked that are in excess of the regular 

hours worked but hours not in excess of 40 hours per work week. 
 
8. Overtime hours means those hours worked in excess of 40 hours per work week. 
 
9. Work week means a 7 consecutive day week defined by the County’s payroll 

schedule which consistently begins and ends on the same day throughout the year, 
i.e., Sunday through Saturday, Wednesday through Tuesday, or Friday through 
Thursday. 

 



 

10. Court means the Monroe Circuit Court and Division means the particular division of 
the Court for which the court reporter performs services.  Court may also mean all of 
the divisions of the Monroe Circuit Court. 

 
11. County indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from county funds and 

is for the use on behalf of a litigant who has been declared indigent by a court. 
 

12. State indigent transcript means a transcript that is paid for from state funds and is 
for the use on behalf of a litigant who is declared indigent by a court. 

 
13. Private transcript means a transcript, including but not limited to, a deposition 

transcript that is paid for by a private party. A transcript required within 7 days of the 
request is a category 1 expedited private transcript. A transcript required within 14 days 
of the request is a category 2 expedited private transcript. A transcript required within 
23 days of the request is a category 3 expedited private transcript. 

 
14. Volume applies to Appellate Court transcripts.  Each volume is to be limited to 250 

pages or fifty megabytes (50 MB).  The table of contents is to be a separate volume 
and the exhibits are to be included in a separate volume (or volumes if more than 
250 pages). 

 
B. Section Two. Salaries and Per Page Fees. 

 
1. Court Reporters shall be paid an annual salary for time spent working under the 

control, direction, and direct supervision of their supervising Judge during any 
regular work hours, gap hours or overtime hours.  The Monroe Circuit Court shall 
enter into a written agreement with the court reporters which outlines the manner in 
which the court reporter is to be compensated for gap and overtime hours, i.e., 
monetary compensation or compensatory time off regular work hours. 
 

2. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a 
routine county indigent transcript shall be $6.00. The court reporter shall submit a 
claim directly to the county for the preparation of any county indigent transcripts.  
The court reporter shall not charge a fee for copies of an indigent transcript when 
the preparation of same has already been paid by the county. The court reporter 
shall not charge for copies of a prepared indigent transcript requested by a Court 
appointed entity (i.e., CASA, GAL) when the preparation of same has already been 
paid by the county. 

 
3. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a 

non-appellate state indigent transcript shall be $6.00. 



 

 
4. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a non-

appellate private transcript shall be $6.50.  The per page fee a court reporter may 
charge for a copy of a prepared transcript shall be $3.50. The maximum per page fee a 
court reporter may charge for the preparation of a category 1 expedited private 
transcript shall be $10.00. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for 
the preparation of a category 2 expedited private transcript shall be $9.00.  The 
maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of a category 3 
expedited private transcript shall be $8.00.  Category 1, category 2, and category 3 
expedited private transcripts are defined in Section 1, definition #13. 

 
5. The Court Reporter may at their discretion, contract with an outside Court Reporter 

or Transcription Service to complete any requested transcript. 
 
6. Each court reporter shall report, at least on an annual basis, all transcript fees 

received for the preparation of county indigent, state indigent, or private transcripts 
to the Indiana Office of Court Services. The reporting shall be made on forms 
prescribed by the Indiana Office of Court Services. 

 
C. Section Three. Private Practice. 

 
1. If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice by recording a deposition 

and/or preparing a deposition transcript, outside of and in addition to his or her 
official duties for the court, and the court reporter desires to utilize the court’s 
equipment, work space and supplies, and the court agrees to the use of the court 
equipment for such purpose, the court and the court reporter shall enter into a 
written agreement which must, at a minimum, designate the following: 

 
a. The reasonable market rate for the use of equipment, workspace, and supplies. 

 
b. The method by which records are to be kept for the use of equipment, 

workspace, and supplies; and 
 

c. The method by which the court reporter is to reimburse the court for the use 
of the equipment, workspace, and supplies. 

2. If a court reporter elects to engage in private practice though the recording of a 
deposition and/or preparing of a deposition transcript, all such private practice 
work shall be conducted outside of regular working hours. 
 

  



 

D. Section Four. Appellate Court Transcripts. 
 
1. The maximum per page a court reporter may charge for the preparation of an 

appellate indigent transcript is $6.50. 
 

2. The maximum per page fee a court reporter may charge for the preparation of an 
appellate private transcript shall be $7.00. 

 
3. A minimum fee of $40.00 per transcript may be charged for small transcripts but not 

in addition to the per page fee. 
 
4. The Index and Table of Contents shall be charged at the same per page rate as the 

body of the transcript. 
 
5. Labor charge may be assessed at the same rate as the Official Court Reporter’s hourly 

salary rate for assembling the digital transcript and exhibits. 
 
In addition, a reasonable market rate for office supplies may be charged for private appellate 

transcripts as designated in the Schedule of Supplies. 
  




