Agenda 2022 Mental Health Summit



OCTOBER 21, 2022 · INDIANA CONVENTION CENTER · INDIANAPOLIS

7:30 a.m. Registration

8:30 a.m. Plenary: Opening Session

Three Branches Coming Together

President Pro Tem, Rodric Bray, Indiana State Senate; Lieutenant Governor Suzanne Crouch, State of Indiana; Governor Eric J. Holcomb, State of Indiana; House Speaker Todd Huston, Indiana House of Representatives; and the Hon. Loretta H. Rush, Chief Justice of Indiana

Creating an Effective Infrastructure

Jay Chaudhary, Dir., Div. of Mental Health and Addiction (DMHA), Family & Social Services Administration (FSSA); and Hon. Christopher M. Goff, Justice, Indiana Supreme Court

Legislative Initiatives

Senator Michael R. Crider, Indiana State Senate; Senator Jack E. Sandlin, Indiana State Senate; and Representative Gregory E. Steuerwald, Indiana House of Representatives

Keynote Presentation: The Definition of Insanity Hon. Steven Leifman, Miami-Dade County, FL

10:15 a.m. Break

10:30 a.m. Plenary: Indiana's Plan Strengthen Sequential Intercepts 0 to 1

Katy Adams, Southwestern Behavioral Healthcare, Inc.; Sheriff Brett Clark, Hendricks County; Mary Kay Hudson, Executive Dir., Indiana Office of Court Services (IOCS) and Patti Tobias, Court Principal Management Consultant, Court Consulting Services, National Center for State Courts (NCSC)

Crisis Response System (988) and Beyond

Dr. Christopher Drapeau, Executive Dir., Prevention of Suicide & Crisis Response, DMHA, FSSA; and Jay Chaudhary, Dir., DMHA

Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics Jay Chaudhary, Dir., DMHA; Patti Tobias, Consultant, NCSC

12:00 p.m. Lunch

(Table assignments for guided Team discussions.)

1:15 p.m. Concurrent Sessions

Using Local-JRAC: Improving Community Response to Mental Illness

Hon. Michael J. Drenth, Porter Superior Court 3; Hon. Christopher M. Goff, Indiana Supreme Court; Sheriff Brett Clark, Hendricks County; Mary Kay Hudson, Executive Dir., IOCS; Tammy O'Neill, Porter County Community Corrections; and Senator Jack E. Sandlin, Indiana State Senate

Mapping Your County Behavioral Health Continuum

Nicole Adams, PhD, RN, Clinical Associate Professor, Purdue University School of Nursing; Zoe Frantz, CEO, Indiana Council of Community Mental Health Centers, Inc.; Robert Gaskill, Bartholomew County Assistant Chief Probation Officer; and Patti Tobias, Consultant, NCSC

Crisis Intervention Teams

Shannon Chambers, Johnson County Probation Officer and Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) Co-Coordinator; James Engmark, Johnson County CIT Deputy; Marianne Halbert, Criminal Justice Dir., NAMI, Indiana; and Chad Poynter, Johnson County CIT Deputy

Recognizing Mental Illness & Treatment Overview

Dr. Leslie A. Hulvershorn, Chair, Dept. of Psychiatry, IU School of Medicine and Medical Dir., DMHA, FSSA

Competency Restoration: The Process & Recommendations for Improvement

Hon. Steven Leifman, Miami-Dade County, FL, moderator; Hon. Vicki L. Carmichael, Clark Circuit Court #4; Kenneth P. Cotter, Prosecutor, St. Joseph County; Joel C. Wieneke, Senior Staff Attorney, Indiana Public Defender Council; and Katrina Norris, Executive Dir., IN State Psychiatric Hospital Network, DMHA, FSSA

2:30 p.m. Break

2:45 p.m. Concurrent Sessions

Local JRAC Policy Team in Action

Hon. James D. Worton, Bartholomew Superior Court 1; and Robert Gaskill, Bartholomew County Assistant Chief Probation Officer

Upstream: Strengthening Children & Families Through Prevention and Intervention Strategies

Debbie Burke, Assistant General Counsel-Northern Region, Indiana Dept. of Child Services; Leslie Dunn, Deputy Dir., Children & Families Div., IOCS; Hon. Faith A. Graham, Tippecanoe Superior Court 3; and Gilbert C. Smith, Assistant Deputy Dir., Field Operations, Indiana Dept. of Child Services

A Closer Look at Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics

Zoe Frantz, CEO, Indiana Council of Community Mental Health Centers, Inc.; Ahrash Nassiri, Program Dir., FSSA; Hon. Amy Jones, Marion Superior Court 34; and Patti Tobias, Consultant, NCSC

Trauma Informed & The Mental Health Crisis

Dr. Sharon L. Bowman, PhD, Professor and Chair, Dept. of Counseling, Psychology, Social Psychology and Counseling, Ball State University

Peer Support—Extending the Reach of Recovery

Faculty includes: Brandon George, Dir. of Indiana Addiction Issues, Mental Health America of Indiana and Ray Lay, CEO, SIMI Enterprises

4:00 p.m. Break

4:10 p.m. Plenary: Closing Session

Keynote—Living with Mental Illness
Charmin Gabbard, Executive Dir., Connection Café

A Call to Action

Hon. Christopher M. Goff, Indiana Supreme Court; Mary Kay Hudson, Executive Dir., IOCS; and Douglas Huntsinger, Executive Dir., Drug Prevention, Treatment & Enforcement, Governor's Office

4:45 p.m. Adjourn