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CHAPTER 1

YOU, THE LAW & ALCOHOL

Alcohol-related traffic accidents have caused more deaths in the United States than
the total number of American soldiers killed in World War I, World War II and the wars
in Korea, Vietnam and the Persian Gulf combined. Therefore, it is understandable why
the current laws that regulate the purchase and consumption of alcohol are so strict and
becoming stricter as legislators try to deal with this critical social problem.

Like many states around the country, Indiana has strict enforcement and penalties for
drunk driving. It is illegal in the state to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC)
level of .08 percent or greater. This is the standard measurement of an “impaired” driver
across the United States. Indiana has stricter laws for drivers under the age of 21 and
drivers of commercial vehicles. The charge for driving with a .08 BAC in Indiana is a
Class C Misdemeanor for your first offense. Indiana also has similar legislation regarding
driving under the influence of illegal substances, such as marijuana, methamphetamine
or cocaine.

1
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21: The age of majority
Indiana, like most states, requires that you be 21 years of age or older to purchase,

consume or even possess alcoholic beverages. Anyone under the age of 21 who possesses,
consumes or transports alcoholic beverages commits a Class C Misdemeanor punishable
by imprisonment of not more than 60 days, a fine not to exceed $500 and, when not
accompanied by at least one of his or her parents or guardian or when using a false or
altered driver’s license to purchase alcohol, suspension of driving privileges for a period
not to exceed one year.

Operating a vehicle while intoxicated is a crime
Perhaps the most frequent comment that people arrested for drunk driving make to

their attorneys when they get out of jail is: “Can you believe it? They treated me like a
criminal.” However, the simple truth of the matter is that drunk drivers kill literally tens
of thousands of innocent victims each year. You have committed a crime if you are
arrested and convicted for public intoxication or operating a vehicle while intoxicated.

Implied Consent Law
Indiana, like most states, has what is called an Implied Consent Law. Since it is not a

right but rather a privilege to drive an automobile, the Indiana Implied Consent Law
requires that all drivers in Indiana agree to submit to a chemical test of their blood,
breathe or urine. Refusal to take such a test will bring a driver’s license suspension of one
year for your first refusal. As do many states, Indiana treats chemical-test refusals as seri-
ous or more serious than an actual drunk driving conviction.

The legal limit and the Per Se Law
In addition to Indiana’s legal standard for drunk driving at .08 BAC, the state also has

a Per Se Violation that makes it easier for the prosecutor to prove you are guilty of drunk
driving. The prosecutor only needs to show that you were driving a vehicle with a .08
BAC rather than actually driving in a drunken manner. The penalty for operating a
vehicle with .08 BAC or more, without any other evidence that you were intoxicated, is a
misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail, a fine not to exceed $500 and a driver’s
license suspension of up to 1 year.

“Zero Tolerance” Law for minors
Effective Jan. 1, 1997, Indiana’s underage-drinking drivers face greater odds of being

punished with the state’s new Zero Tolerance Law. Under the law, a driver younger than
21 caught operating a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of .02 BAC or higher faces the
likelihood of being arrested, having his or her driver’s license suspended for up to 1 year
and being fined $500. Under current law, anyone caught driving with a blood-alcohol
level of .08 BAC or higher can be charged with driving while intoxicated, a misde-
meanor. The new law lowers the blood-alcohol limit and changes the misdemeanor
charges when minors are caught driving and drinking. In addition to operating a vehicle
while intoxicated, possession or consumption of alcohol by a minor also is a crime.

Penalties for drunk driving
The first time you are convicted of drunk driving in Indiana you will pay court costs

and fees of $300 or more; you may also be fined up to $5,000. You will also face jail time
not to exceed 1 year. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days,
followed by a probationary period during which you will be allowed to drive only to

2
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work and back. It is also possible that you will be placed on probation and ordered to
enroll in a substance abuse course at your own expense. If the court rules, you may need
to install an ignition interlock device on your car, attend a victim impact panel and sub-
mit to chemical testing for drug and alcohol abuse.

The second time you are convicted of drunk driving you will spend a minimum of 5
days in jail but possibly up to 3 years. You may also be ordered to perform community
service. The fine you will receive will be no more than $10,000. Your license will be sus-
pended for a minimum of six months and possibly up to two years. It is also possible
that you will be placed on probation and ordered to enroll in a substance abuse course at
your own expense. If the court rules, you may need to install an ignition interlock device
on your car, attend a victim impact panel and submit to chemical testing for drug and
alcohol abuse.

Your third drunk driving conviction in Indiana will result in a mandatory minimum
of 10 days in jail but possibly up to 3 years. You may also be ordered to perform commu-
nity service. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 1 year but may be
suspended for 10 years. The court will label you a habitual violator facing harsh penalties
for any future infractions. If you are charged and sentenced as a habitual substance
offender, you may be imprisoned for an additional 1 to 8 years in jail. It is also possible
that you will be placed on probation and ordered to enroll in a substance abuse course at
your own expense. If the court rules, you may need to install an ignition interlock device
on your car, attend a victim impact panel and submit to chemical testing for drug and
alcohol abuse.

You should also be aware that a third offense within a 10-year period of time triggers
the Indiana Habitual Traffic Offender Law, which requires a mandatory suspension of
your driving privileges for at least 10 years. Please note carefully that these penalties are
applicable only if someone is not injured or killed.

Drunk driving causing bodily injury or death 
When a person is convicted of drunk driving resulting in serious bodily injury, it is

considered a felony offense automatically, and the penalty may be up to 3 years in prison
and a fine of up to $10,000. A person who is convicted of drunk driving resulting in an
accident in which someone was killed commits a Class C Felony with a prison sentence
ranging from a minimum of 2 years to maximum of 8 years and a fine of up to $10,000.

In some cases, the prosecutor may elect to charge you with either reckless homicide
or murder, with penalties that range from 2 to 60 or more years imprisonment and up to
a $10,000 fine.

What to do if you’re caught 
If you are arrested for drunk driving, treat the police officer with respect. Belligerent

behavior will go into the police report and may affect your case in court. As soon as pos-
sible after being released on bond, you should retain an attorney to assist you.

How not to get caught: 
DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE!

3
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CHAPTER 2 

YOUR CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM

Can someone less than 18 years old be charged with a crime? 
Yes! Although special leniency is typically given to any person under 18 (a juvenile), a

prosecutor may request that he or she be tried as an adult. Typically, the more serious the
crime (such as rape, robbery, extortion, kidnapping, murder and other violent crimes),
the more likely the court will be to consider the person as an adult.

Is there a separate legal system for juvenile offenders?
Yes. The Indiana Juvenile Code controls the handling of crimes committed by people

less than 18 years of age. Basically, these offenses are divided into two separate categories:

Status offenses — Offenses that relate directly to the individual just because of his/her
age. Some of the most common status offenses are:

Curfew: A person between the ages of 15 and 17 cannot be in a public place
after 11 p.m. and before 5 a.m. during the week or after 1 a.m. and before 5 a.m.
on the weekend. Further, persons under 15 years of age cannot be in a public
place after 11 p.m. or before 5 a.m. on any day. You should be aware that each
local government can make the local curfew earlier at its own discretion.
Incorrigibility: A minor who fails to obey the lawful requests of his or her par-
ent and/or guardian is labeled incorrigible.
Truancy: Willful or negligent failure to attend school.

4
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Non-status offenses — The other types of crimes involved in the Juvenile Code are non-
status offenses because they would be crimes if committed by an adult. There are certain
offenses of a serious nature that can be committed by anyone 18 years or older who does
something with or to someone who is less than 18 years old. These are:

Contributing to the delinquency of a minor: Merely committing an illegal act in
a minor’s presence or otherwise contributing to his/her delinquency.
Statutory rape: Statutory rape is a more serious offense that involves having sex
with someone less than 16 years of age when you are over 16 years of age. Even
if the person who is less than 16 years of age is willing, ready and able to engage
in a sexual act, you can still go to jail because legally, this person is not capable
of any type of valid consent to sexual activity.

Are there different kinds of crime? 
Yes. Crimes in Indiana are separated into two categories: misdemeanors and felonies.

Misdemeanors are less serious offenses that sometimes may not trigger a full-blown
arrest or jail term, depending on the circumstances. Public intoxication, minor shoplift-
ing offenses, and minor physical assaults with no injuries are some examples of misde-
meanors. Felonies, on the other hand, are more serious offenses that usually involve a
physical arrest resulting in jail time.

Am I ever justified in running from and/or avoiding the police? 
No! The police have a very difficult task in enforcing the laws, and their status as

police officers gives them the right to stop and detain you if they believe a crime is about
to occur or has occurred. Anytime a police officer attempts to stop you, you must coop-
erate. By resisting or fleeing a police officer you are committing additional crimes, which
may lead to a forceful apprehension or even the use of deadly force against you.
Remember, however, that if you have been arrested and advised of your constitutional
rights, such as a right to an attorney, you should not say anything or it could be used
against you in court at a later time.

What happens if I am arrested?
The United States and Indiana constitutions give you the absolute right to refuse to

answer any questions or make any statement except to provide your name and address. If
you have been arrested (detained and not allowed to leave), the police may inform you of
your Miranda Rights, which include your right to remain silent. Whether or not you are
read your Miranda Rights, keep in mind that you have the right to an attorney and the
right to remain silent. Additionally, under the Constitution, you have the right to have an
attorney with you during any questioning by the police. You should be afforded the rea-
sonable use of a telephone to make as many calls as may be reasonably necessary to
obtain an attorney. Finally, you should be aware that if you cannot afford an attorney,
you should request that the court appoint an attorney for you before you make any
statements. The most important aspect of being placed under arrest is that any state-
ment, whether it is written or made orally, can and will be used against you in court.
Therefore, you should never sign anything or give a statement before consulting with an
attorney of your choice or one appointed by the court.

If you are arrested by the police, you will be taken to a jail or other police facility.
There, you will be searched, fingerprinted, photographed and questioned by the police
(remember, you have the right to remain silent). You may be given a jail uniform. You
will usually be given a chance to post bail, which is money paid to insure that you will
show up for court as ordered. If you are drunk, you will not be released until sober.

5

Legal Stuff 2011  4/12/11  8:05 PM  Page 13



What will the police do with me after I am arrested? 
When you are arrested, the police will search you for any dangerous weapons and

take you to the jail for booking procedures. At the jail, you will be fingerprinted, pho-
tographed, and perhaps searched a second time prior to being placed in a holding cell.
You should always remember to behave yourself, especially if you have been arrested for
a drug or alcohol offense. If you are polite and well-mannered, you are less likely to be
injured, further restrained, or have additional criminal charges filed against you. You
should also be quiet and avoid talking to anyone other than your attorney. Small talk
with other people in the jail may come back to haunt you later.

How long do I have to stay in jail until I go to court? 
Your first appearance in court is called an initial hearing. In Indiana, you must be

taken before a judicial officer for an initial hearing if you are arrested without a warrant.
As a practical matter, this will usually be within 72 hours. If you are able to afford bond,
you may bond out before your initial hearing, but you must make sure to come to court
on the date set for it. At that time, the judicial officer will explain the charges against you
and your basic Constitutional rights. Since most individuals go before the judicial officer
at the initial hearing without an attorney present, you should always:

• Plead not guilty 
• Request a jury trial 
• Request a court-appointed attorney if you cannot afford one

Procedures vary from county to county. Some counties may not allow you to address
the issue of a bond reduction until filed by your attorney, or yourself if you decide to
proceed without an attorney. Due to the congestion of the court system, most counties
reserve initial hearings just for the appointment of counsel, advisement of rights and set-
ting future court dates. You or your attorney may also request to be released on your
own recognizance, which means you do not post bond but promise to appear at all
future hearings. This decision is made by the judge, typically at a hearing set for that spe-
cific issue. The court is concerned with three primary factors at a bond reduction hear-
ing and in setting bond: The security of your return at future hearings, the safety of soci-
ety and the safety of another person.

There are three types of bail:
Cash Bond — You must post the entire amount set by the court in cash with the
clerk of the court.
Corporate Surety Bond — Bail bondsmen can post a bond for you in an
amount required by the court, but they keep a fee in an amount equal to 10 per-
cent of the total amount posted. This is not available in every county.
Court Cash Bond — Some judges will allow the posting of 10 percent of the
bond to be paid directly to the court without a bail bondsman. If there is any
money left from the bond after court costs and fines, it will be returned. If the
case is dismissed, all of the bond will be returned.

If you are on probation for another offense, the jail may hold you for up to 15 days
without allowing you to post bond. If there are holds in other counties for charges
against you, then the jail cannot release you to anyone other than the county with the
hold against you.

6
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Can I be searched by a police officer who does not have a warrant? 
Usually, the police need a warrant to search either you or the things you own, such as

your car and house. If you are ever handed a search warrant, you should read it carefully
to make sure the police have the right person and correct address, and that the judge’s
name and signature are included. The warrant should also tell you what the police are
looking for and what they have a right to search. However, sometimes a warrant is not
needed. Here are a few examples of when a warrant is not needed by a police officer:

• If you are lawfully arrested the police may search you and the area that is with-
in your immediate reach and control.

• If the police reasonably believe that you are armed and dangerous, they may
frisk you.

• If the police are in hot pursuit, they may pursue you without a warrant.
• If the police have a reasonable belief that you have contraband in your car or

have evidence of a crime in the vehicle, they may search your car without a
warrant.

• In emergency situations that could involve the loss of life or serious injuries,
the police may conduct a search.

What should I do if charged with a crime?
If you are accused of, suspected of or charged with a crime, you should remember the

following things:
• When dealing with the police, try to be polite and cooperative; anything else

will draw suspicion. Note that refusing to assist an officer or resisting arrest are
also crimes.

• Remember that an individual is innocent until proven guilty.
• Remember that an individual has the right to remain silent. You do not have

to say anything if you do not want to.
• Remember to talk to a lawyer immediately if there are any questions about an

individual’s rights. If you are not sure about whether to talk to police, talk to a
lawyer first. If the police searched you, your house or your car, or if they are
asking to and you are not sure if it is legal for them to do so, then ask to speak
with a lawyer. If the police have already searched and you do not think it was
legal, talk to a lawyer.

7
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CHAPTER 3 

MARRIAGE & DIVORCE

Marriage: Tying the knot
Anyone who is age 18 or older may be married in the state of Indiana. If you are not

yet 18, you will need your parents’ consent, and if you are under 16 you may be required
to obtain a judge’s consent as well. In Indiana you may be married by either a member of
the clergy or a judge of a county, state or federal court. Regardless of the type of wedding
you choose to have, the commitment you are making is one of the most serious and far-
reaching commitments you will ever make in your life.

Divorce: Untying the knot 
Approximately half of all marriages in the United States end in divorce. Indiana has

no-fault divorce, which means that a divorce is granted based on a finding of irretriev-
able breakdown of the marriage rather than the fault of one of the parties.

Filing for divorce — A divorce is started by filing a Petition for Dissolution in a court
in the county where one or both spouses live. The divorce cannot become final until 60
days after the filing of the petition. Each spouse should have his or her own attorney for
the divorce unless both are in complete agreement on how the property should be divid-
ed and how any child custody, visitation and/or support issues.

Temporary custody and child support — After the initial petition has been filed, the
parties either enter into, or the court orders, a temporary order commonly called a
Provisional Order. This order typically grants the care, custody and control of the minor
children to one or both parents and states who may continue to live in the residence as
well as how bills are to be paid. Indiana has recognized joint legal custody, which gives
the person who would typically be the noncustodial parent more say in how the children
are raised, become educated and receive religious training.

Parenting Time Guidelines — Indiana has enacted minimum standard visitation or
“Parenting Time Guidelines.” These guidelines define the amount of time a child spends
with each parent after a divorce. They are applied automatically unless the parents opt
out, create an alternative agreement and explain to the court in writing why they have
deviated from the guidelines. These guidelines are applicable to all child custody situa-
tions, including paternity cases and cases involving joint legal custody where one person
has primary physical custody. However, they are not applicable to situations involving
family violence, substance abuse, risk of flight with a child or any other circumstances
the court reasonably believes endanger the child’s physical health or safety, or significant-
ly impair the child’s emotional development. These guidelines include different stan-
dards for infants and toddlers, children 3 years old and older, adolescents and teenagers,
and holidays.

Child Support Guidelines — The Indiana Supreme Court has adopted child support
guidelines. These guidelines are used to determine the amount of child support awarded
in divorce cases. The support guidelines are based upon an economic theory that the
children should enjoy the same standard of living as if the parents had not been
divorced. The guidelines provide a mathematical computation of the child support based
upon the combined gross (rather than net) income of both parties. Each spouse is
responsible for a prorated share of the total amount of child support indicated in the
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guidelines. The more money the parties make, the larger the child support.
Extraordinary educational expenses, health care expenses, and work-related child care
expenses are additions to the basic child support payment and are shared proportionate-
ly by the parents. In addition, six percent of the annual child support obligation is for
routine uninsured medical expenses. Spouses can receive a credit for exercising regular
overnight parenting time. Depending upon the circumstances, a custodial parent may be
required to pay the noncustodial parent child support. To determine your child support
obligation, visit in.gov/judiciary/childsupport/.

Property division — A court has to divide the property in a just and reasonable man-
ner, and the presumption is that an equal division is just and reasonable. However, the
following factors can be used to show the court that an equal property division is not
just and reasonable:

• The contribution of each spouse to the acquisition of the property, regardless
of whether the contribution was income-producing. (For example, the contr
bution of one spouse maintaining the home would be considered the same as
income.) 

• Whether the property was acquired prior to the marriage or through an inher-
itance or gift.

• The economic circumstances of each spouse at the time of divorce, including
the awarding of the right to use the family residence.

• The conduct of the parties with respect to the use of the property during the
marriage.

• The parties’ earnings or their ability to earn income as it relates to a division of
the marital property.

Many court forms related to divorce can be found online at in.gov/judiciary/selfservice.

Alimony vs. maintenance — Alimony (cash payments from one spouse to another
that are not child support) has been abolished in Indiana. However, a court may order
rehabilitative maintenance, if the court makes a finding that there is a need for a spouse
to be rehabilitated. The court makes this determination by looking at the educational
levels of each spouse and whether the spouse quit or postponed work or education to
assume homemaking and/or child care responsibilities. However, the court may only
order rehabilitative maintenance in an amount that is necessary, and it may not be for
more than three years. In addition, a court may order maintenance if a spouse if physi-
cally or mentally incapacitated to the extent that the ability of the individual spouse to
support himself or herself is materially affected. Under those circumstances, the court
may find that maintenance is necessary during the spouse’s period of incapacity. The
court may also order maintenance when a spouse does not have sufficient property to
provide for his or her own needs and is the custodian of a child who is physically or
mentally incapacitated, requiring the spouse to forgo employment.

Domestic violence
Although the State of Indiana typically stays out of your private married life, you can

be assured that the authorities can and will get involved to protect spouses and children
from physical, mental or emotional abuse. If either you or your children have been sub-
jected to abuse of any sort, you should immediately seek help from an attorney, welfare
department, spouse abuse center and/or prosecutor in your area. Forms for the purpose
of filing a petition for an Order for Protection pro se (meaning without an attorney), are
now available statewide through your county clerk’s office.
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CHAPTER 4

RENTING YOUR OWN APARTMENT

Possibly your first experience getting out on your own will involve securing an apart-
ment or house to rent. That may be your first opportunity to deal with a lease as you
enter into a landlord-tenant relationship. The more you understand about this relation-
ship and the basic legal concepts, the more enjoyable the experience should be.

Signing the lease 
A lease is an agreement that sets out your rights and obligations as a tenant, or renter,

and likewise does the same for the landlord. It should be in writing, but an oral lease is
also enforceable under Indiana law if its length is for less than three years. However, it is
strongly recommended that your lease always be in writing. You should read and under-
stand each provision in the lease before signing it. If you don’t understand all the terms
in the lease, seek assistance. You can ask an attorney for help or work with some other
trusted individual who has experience in reviewing contracts, especially leases.

Carefully review the important terms of the lease, some of which include the length
of the lease, the amount and due date of rent payments, late charges, who is responsible
for utilities, the amount of any security deposit and what that deposit may be used for,
and any other conditions of the lease that may be important to your particular situation.
Often there will be a provision including the landlord’s policy on pets. Another provision
may state the policy on making repairs to common areas as well as to your own private
space.

Habitability: Repairs made necessary by the careless or irresponsible acts of a tenant
or guests probably will not be paid by the landlord. Ordinary wear and tear to the prem-
ises and fixing malfunctioning equipment or systems will usually be the responsibility of
the landlord, but remember, the tenant must give notice of the problem first.

It is always the landlord’s responsibility to provide a habitable or livable dwelling. If
you have given notice that a repair is needed and a reasonable time has passed and the
repair has not been made, you may have the right to have the item fixed yourself and
then deduct the repair cost from your rent. Be certain to review the lease or have an
attorney review the lease to ensure what notice provisions you must give to the landlord
before you can either make or pay for the repairs yourself. This will likely apply only to

systems or items that would make your
apartment or home unlivable (uninhab-
itable), and it may become a point of
argument. Communication with your
landlord is necessary, and it is always
best to do so in writing (and keep a
copy for yourself).

Lease term: The length of the lease
term is always important, especially as it
relates to the right to terminate or end
the lease. It is common for apartment
leases to obligate the tenant to pay rent
for a 1-year period initially, during
which time the amount of rent is fixed;
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the rent is usually paid monthly. Keep in mind that the lease terms control the tenant’s
obligations. You should make the landlord explain the policy to you. Otherwise, unless
altered by the terms of the lease, apartment leases in Indiana that do not have a termina-
tion date are for an indefinite time and will continue for a year. At the conclusion of the
year, absent lease terms otherwise, the lease will renew for a year unless terminated by
either party with proper notice.

For example, if the lease is for an indefinite period and doesn’t say more, it will
require one month’s written notice by the tenant or the landlord to terminate the lease.
If the lease is for a year-to-year period (like most apartment leases), it will require three
months’ written notice of termination given by landlord or tenant prior to the end of the
year. This can be a dangerous pitfall because without good communication with your
landlord, your lease may automatically roll into another one-year period. Sometimes a
landlord will agree to lease month-to-month after successful completion of the first year
but you need to get this in writing.

Generally, you may be evicted by the landlord for committing waste (causing exces-
sive damage to the property), remaining in possession after the lease term has expired,
failing to comply with payment obligations or violating other conditions of the lease. In
the absence of a specific agreement, 10 days’ notice to move out is all the landlord must
give you if you are late on rent, unless the rent is brought current within the 10 days fol-
lowing the notice to move out. The lease may provide a longer period for the tenant to
cure the violations before being evicted.

The landlord cannot discriminate against you
No landlord may refuse to rent an apartment or house to you, or alter the terms of a

proposed lease, solely on the basis of your race, religion, sex, nationality, ancestry, dis-
ability or use of a guide dog. In fact, the landlord may not even ask questions about any
of these matters on a form or application. Any landlord who does any of these things
may be guilty of discrimination in violation of both state and federal laws.

Return of security deposits
Your security deposit, minus any past due or accrued rent, and minus any damages

the landlord has or will suffer as a result of your noncompliance with the law or the
rental agreement, and minus any unpaid sewer or utility charges you are responsible for,
must be returned to you within 45 days after termination of the lease. Any amount sub-
tracted by the landlord from the security deposit must be specifically itemized and pro-
vided to you in writing within the 45-day period. If the landlord fails to notify you with-
in 45 days of the amount he or she is withholding for damages and charges, then the
landlord may not later assert any charges or damages and must return the full security
deposit to you immediately. However, the 45-day period begins only after you have given
the landlord your new address. If the landlord fails to return your deposit, you may file a
lawsuit against the landlord for the return of the deposit and require him or her to pay
any legal fees you may incur in the process.

Moving and storage of your personal property
If you fail to remove your property from the rented apartment or house after you

move out, the landlord may, after receiving a court order, deliver it to a storage facility.
The storage facility may keep the property until you pay any fees or charges for the stor-
age. If you fail to claim your property within 90 days, the storage facility may sell it to
satisfy any charges. The landlord may not destroy, throw away or sell your property. The
landlord must remove and deliver the personal property to a storage facility.
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CHAPTER 5

YOUR RIGHTS AS A CONSUMER

In any given day, you might have to make several consumer choices — such as where
to get lunch, where to stop for coffee, which car repair shop to use, which online retailers
to buy from, and which cell phone plan is best for your needs. As you move out of your
parents’ home and start taking more responsibility for earning and budgeting your
money, these choices become more important.

Sometimes ample information and time are available to help you make the best con-
sumer choices, while other times you might have to decide quickly and with little assur-
ance that the seller, product or service is trustworthy. Since you may not find out that a
product or service is defective or disappointing until well after the transaction, it’s
important to do your homework ahead of time and equally important to know your
rights as a consumer in the event you didn’t get what you expected.

Consumer protection 
State and federal law provides you with basic consumer rights when businesses or

individuals deceive you or misrepresent the quality or benefits of particular items or
services. For example, you don’t have to accept or pay for unsolicited merchandise that is
delivered to your house or apartment without your authorization. Also, if someone sells
you a product that they claim works but later turns out to have been damaged or broken,
you may have legal remedies to get a refund or a replacement product.

Some of these consumer transaction disputes can be resolved with a simple phone
call or email to the business that sold you the good or service. Other disputes may
require the services of an attorney, your state attorney general’s office or another govern-
ment agency. It’s wise to get consumer transaction agreements and quality and consumer
satisfaction guarantees in writing, especially for large purchases.

Credit cards 
Like older adults, many young people have one or more credit or debit cards that

they use for daily purchases. Credit card purchases are paid for after the fact; debit card
transactions are paid for directly from your bank or checking account. Credit card pur-
chases that aren’t paid off in full when the next monthly statement arrives will incur
interest charges, so consider how long it will take you to satisfy the original price and
associated interest obligations before you decide to swipe your card at the point of pur-
chase.

When opening a credit card account, pay attention to these important terms:
• The interest rate for balances that aren’t paid off during the grace period
• Whether the interest rate is fixed or variable
• The total credit limit
• Promotional interest rates and terms
• Late payment fees, over-the-limit fees and annual fees
Credit card statements will indicate a required minimum monthly payment, but be

careful of paying just this amount each month. Because interest may accrue at amounts
similar to or even higher than the payments you’re making, it can take several years to
pay off a sizable balance with minimum monthly payments.
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Your credit card issuer is required to notify you of any interest rate increases or credit
limit changes, so pay close attention to any notices you receive electronically or in the
mail. Also, make sure not to miss payments or to become delinquent on your accounts.
Missed payments can damage your credit rating, and serious delinquencies can result in
collection procedures or lawsuits being filed against you.

Lost or stolen credit or debit cards and identity theft 
If you lose your credit or debit card, contact the company that issued the card imme-

diately to cancel the card so unauthorized usage is prevented or minimized. Many com-
panies have 24-hour toll-free hotlines or dedicated email addresses where lost or stolen
cards can be reported. It’s always a good idea to follow up phone calls with certified let-
ters reporting the card loss or theft.

Federal law limits your liability to $50 for unauthorized charges on your credit card,
but you may be able to avoid any liability if you report the loss or theft before fraudulent
charges are made. For unauthorized use of debit or ATM cards, your liability under fed-
eral law depends on how quickly you report the fraudulent activity. If you report the loss
or theft of the card before it’s used, you aren’t responsible for any subsequent charges. If
the loss or theft is reported within two business days, your liability is limited to $50. You
may have pay up to $500 for unauthorized charges not reported within two business
days, and you may be held responsible for all fraudulent charges if you don’t report them
within 60 days of receiving your billing or bank statement. Quick action after discovering
that your card has been lost, stolen or improperly used is extremely important in mini-
mizing your damages. You should also promptly report fraudulent use or attempts to use
your account numbers or personal information to commit identity theft to your local
law enforcement agency.

If the thief or scam artist stole or obtained access to your Social Security number,
date of birth, driver’s license number, or other personal information in addition to your
credit or debit card account number, you may face a higher risk of identity theft. You can
place a security freeze on your credit reports, which are discussed further in the next sec-
tion, to prevent new accounts from being opened in your name, and you should closely
monitor your credit reports and account statements for evidence of fraudulent activity
being committed in your name.

Credit reports and credit scores 
When companies decide whether to issue a credit card or loan to you, they will order

a credit report detailing your credit history to assist in determining whether you are an
acceptable credit risk. Private companies referred to as credit reporting agencies or credit
bureaus compile and assemble information about your bill payment history, credit lim-
its, number of credit accounts and other information to create your credit report. Under
federal law you are permitted to receive a free copy of your credit report once per year
from each of the three nationwide credit reporting agencies — Equifax, Experian and
Trans Union. You can order your free reports online at annualcreditreport.com.

You can also pay for additional credit reports or your credit score — an industry
ranking of how your credit rating compares to other individuals — for a fee. With your
authorization, such as when you apply for a car loan or a new store credit card, compa-
nies can obtain your credit report to decide whether you are likely to pay back your
debts and therefore whether they will extend credit to you.
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Since your credit reports can affect availability of credit and preferential interest rates
and repayment terms, and since they can tip you off to evidence of fraud or identity
theft involving your personal information, you should regularly order credit reports and
check them closely for accuracy and completeness. Each credit reporting agency is
required to have procedures in place to respond to and verify disputes regarding the
accuracy of reports they produce.

Automobile purchases
When shopping for a new or used car, pay close attention to the details of the sale

and any warranties that might apply. Dealers are required to disclose whether the sales
agreement includes a warranty that will cover repairs that might be needed within a
certain time period or before a certain number of miles have been driven after the sale.
Many cars are sold “as-is” — meaning that the seller is not required to fix anything that
might go wrong with the car after you drive it off the lot, so it’s important to test drive,
carefully inspect and perhaps even have a mechanic take a look at cars sold on those
terms.

Vehicles that are less than 18 months old or that have less than 18,000 miles on them
may be covered by Indiana’s Lemon Law, which provides protection in the event that the
automobile turns out to have a defect that substantially impairs the use, market value, or
safety of the vehicle. To take advantage of Lemon Law protections, you have to report the
defect to the manufacturer before 18 months or 18,000 miles have passed. The manufac-
turer or dealer is then required to make repairs necessary to fix the defect, and if they
cannot do so in four attempts or within 30 business days, you may demand a refund or
replacement vehicle.

Read the details of your purchase agreement before reporting a defect to see if the
manufacturer has adopted an informal dispute procedure for addressing Lemon Law
complaints, and make sure to follow the procedure if outlined in the documentation.
Also make sure you can demonstrate that the defect was not caused by your own abuse,
neglect or unauthorized modification or alternation of the vehicle, which could prevent
you from being protected by the Lemon Law.
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Consumer contracts 
It’s usually a good idea to record in writing the terms of your agreements with busi-

nesses and individuals selling goods and services so that you can prove what those terms
are later if that becomes necessary. Even if the contract doesn’t fully explain every aspect
of the transaction, a written agreement can serve as a starting point for a court or neu-
tral third party in resolving a dispute between you and the other party.

Some oral contracts can be enforced, but it may be more difficult to prove what was
said or promised in the initial transaction if you don’t have any written documentation.

But even with written consumer transaction contracts, you can run into difficulty if
you fail to keep these important considerations in mind:

• Read the entire contract before signing and seek help in understanding any
portions that you do not understand.

• Be wary of any party who wants to rush you into signing. In many cases, there
is no right to rescind or undo the contract.

• Don’t leave blank spaces on a contract; fill them in or cross them out.
• Be sure you can perform the obligations contained in the contract before you

sign.
• Obtain and keep a copy of any contract you sign.
• If you co-sign for another person, be prepared to have to carry out all require-

ments of the contract, including payment.
• Make sure you understand the implications of breaking or defaulting on the

contract, such as additional charges, lawsuits for unpaid amounts or reposses-
sion of the goods you purchased.

Bankruptcy
Filing bankruptcy is a legal option available to you in the event you are unable to

satisfy your debt obligations and have no other alternatives for repaying your debts.
However, filing for and obtaining a bankruptcy discharge of your debts has serious con-
sequences for your future, such as preventing or significantly restricting your ability to
get credit in the future. Furthermore, some types of debts may not be dischargeable
through bankruptcy. If you are so deep in debt or so far behind on your payments that
you are considering bankruptcy, you should contact an attorney or financial professional
for advice. Credit counseling companies and debt management companies may provide
alternatives to bankruptcy that could involve payment plans and debt consolidation, but
as with all consumer agreements, be sure to read and understand any agreements with
credit counselors or debt management companies before signing the contract. There are
many nonprofit and government organizations available to provide information and
advice regarding credit, debt, bankruptcy and related matters.
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CHAPTER 6 

EMPLOYMENT LAW

While going to school, you may have completed many applications for part-time jobs.
Now that you have graduated, however, you may be seeking employment that could lead
to a long-term or even permanent position.

As you search for employment, there are many factors that you need to consider
other than the wages. Several things to consider as you evaluate possible employment
include:

• Is this employer a successful and growing enterprise, or is it struggling or
decreas ing in size? 

• Will the employer provide additional training in an area of interest? 
• Does the employer have an adequate medical insurance program? Are depen-

dents covered?
• Does the employer provide a life insurance program? 
• Does the employer participate in a retirement plan with other companies or

does it provide its own retirement plan? 
• Does this employer allow a time off from work due to illness? 
• Will the employer contribute toward educational costs? 
• Are there additional benefits associated with this employment opportunity? 
• How many days are allowed for a vacation the first year, the second year and

subsequent years? 
• If I decide to resign from a position, how will that affect me? 

Types of employment 
In Indiana, there are basically two types of employment available to you: at-will and

term. The consequences of which type of employment you accept can be significant.
At-will employment — You are most likely to be hired under an at-will employment

contract. At-will employment means that the employee may be discharged at any time
for any reason or for no reason at all. An employee or an employer can terminate the
employment without giving any advance notice to the other party. This means that you,
as an employee, may be terminated by your employer even if you are successfully per-
forming your job. (There are some exceptions.) Similarly, you are free to leave your
employment for any reason or no reason at all. However, many employers require that
you provide a certain amount of notice before leaving if you want to be considered for
rehiring. The terms of an employment agreement that you sign will not necessarily
change the status from being at-will, nor will an employment handbook that you may be
presented when you start work.

Term employment — The second type of employment that you could encounter is
one in which you and your employer agree to a specific term or length for your employ-
ment. This employment contract, however, must be for an exact length of time. A con-
tract for employment for a lifetime is not a contract for a definite period, and it is not
enforceable. If you are provided an employee handbook, your employer will be required
to follow the procedures in the handbook. As an employee, you are responsible for read-
ing the employee handbook and for following the procedures in it.
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Exceptions — Regardless of whether your employment is at-will or for a term, an
employer may not terminate you on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national ori-
gin, age or disability. In addition, an employer may not terminate you in retaliation
for exercising your legal rights, such as filing a worker’s compensation claim or
attending jury duty.

Unemployment
Even though your employment may be terminated at any time under at-will employ-

ment, Indiana still provides some protection by providing unemployment compensation.
You must follow the set procedures to apply for unemployment compensation upon
being discharged. If you have been discharged for no cause, you may be able to obtain
unemployment compensation benefits. If you seek unemployment compensation, your
former employer will be notified of your application for benefits and will be given a
period of time in which to request a hearing to object to the awarding of such benefits.
These benefits will be denied to you if the employer is able to show that you were dis-
charged for a just cause. The courts have held that just cause exists in situations where
employees conduct themselves in a manner so as to harm the reputation of the employ-
er. If you are off work and on the grounds of the employer, such as a parking lot or an
area that is used by the public, you would be expected not to engage in conduct that is
against your employer’s interest. Just causes for discharge include when the employee
knowingly violates a reasonable and uniformly enforced rule of the employer or a failure
to comply with a duty owed to an employer by an employee.

What to remember 
When you seek employment, you should consider the many factors outlined above

that make employment with one employer much different from that with another. Please
remember that wages alone should not be the only item evaluated in your selection of an
employer. You must evaluate your own performance on the job and be sure that you are
not giving your employer any justification (good cause) for terminating your employ-
ment. This alone may be all that you can do to help protect your ability to receive poten-
tial unemployment compensation upon a discharge. Also, remember that your conduct
with one employer may affect your prospects for being hired by another.

Payment of wages 
Indiana law requires your employer to pay you wages due at least biweekly or semi-

monthly, if requested by you. Certain types of employers are exempt from this require-
ment.

In addition, your employer must pay you all wages due on the next pay day after your
employment is terminated. If your employer fails to comply with these requirements,
you may be entitled to recover damages and attorney’s fees from the employer.
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CHAPTER 7 

STARTING YOUR OWN BUSINESS 

The Indiana Secretary of State makes the needed forms for starting a business avail-
able at their office and online. The Secretary of State’s Web site (in.gov/sos) is a valuable
source for information on starting a business.

Some young adults start businesses after graduating from high school. Most gradu-
ates are inexperienced in business and should seek the advice of someone more experi-
enced in this area, such as an attorney or a certified public accountant (CPA), before
undertaking such a venture. Following are some of the things to consider before starting
a business.

Get help first 
An individual starting a business should seek assistance from the Small Business

Administration (SBA) or a local civic organization such as the Chamber of Commerce.
They will be able to assist you in the organization of your business and can assist you in
determining whether there is a need for the product or service you want to offer.

In organizing a business, you should keep two basic principles in mind. An ideal
business organization is one where the owner or owners invest as little money as possi-
ble, so that if things don’t work out they won’t lose too much. Some of these types of
businesses are usually service-oriented, such as cleaning, lawn mowing, electrical repair,
catering and delivery. If you are going into a type of business requiring the use of
machinery or equipment, you can limit your risk of losing your investment by leasing
the equipment instead of buying it.

The owner or owners of the ideal business should also try to limit their personal lia-
bility for the debts and obligations of the business, which they can do by choosing to
operate as a corporation, a limited liability company (LLC) or limited liability partner-
ship (LLP), rather than a sole proprietorship or partnership. The choice you make will
determine not only your personal liability for the debts of the business organization, but
also how the money you make will be taxed. The vast majority of individuals choose to
operate their businesses as sole proprietorships. A sole proprietor is taxed on all the
income generated by the business and is likewise liable for all the business’ debts.

A partnership is an association of two or more persons as co-owners of a business.
The partnership is managed and controlled by agreements of the partners. If your busi-
ness is a general partnership, you are taxed only on your share of the partnership
income, but you are personally responsible for all the debts of the partnership. If you
operate a limited partnership, the limited partners are not typically liable for the obliga-
tions of the partnership. Unlike a general partnership, there are various filings and fees
required by the state in forming a limited partnership.

LLCs and LLPs are forms of business organizations that combine characteristics of a
partnership and a corporation. Limited liability companies and limited liability partner-
ships afford their members or partners limited responsibility for obligations of the busi-
ness. To create such an entity, articles of organization must be filed with and a filing fee
must be paid to the Indiana Secretary of State. However, the operations of these entities
do not require the same formalities as a corporation.

18

Legal Stuff 2011  4/12/11  8:05 PM  Page 26



To form a business corporation, you must file articles of incorporation with and pay
a filing fee to the Indiana Secretary of State. You must also follow other rules in the initi-
ation, management and control of the business. For example, a corporation must have
directors and officers, adopt bylaws (a set of rules by which the corporation must oper-
ate), issue stock and hold annual directors’ and shareholders’ meetings.

If you choose to operate your business as a corporation, you will not be individually
taxed on corporate profits. However, depending on how your corporation is formed and
registered, you may be subject to double taxation. A traditional corporation, known as a
C corporation, pays taxes on its earnings, and you also pay taxes individually on any pay-
ments you get from it as dividends. However, if the corporation is established as a
Subchapter S corporation, you may avoid double taxation issues. An S corporation does
not pay taxes on earnings. Any taxable profit (or deductible loss) from an S corporation
is passed to the shareholders according to their percentage of ownership in the business.

The advantages of a corporation are that you, as a shareholder, will usually not be
liable for the corporation’s debts beyond the amount that you have invested in the cor-
poration unless you personally guaranteed the debts or other obligations of the corpora-
tion. There are similar advantages to being a member of a limited liability company and
a partner in a limited liability partnership.

The banker 
Establishing a good relationship with your local bank is the first step after deciding

whether your business should be a sole proprietorship, partnership, LLP, LLC or corpo-
ration. It is important to establish a good relationship with a bank officer or representa-
tive. This can provide you with a valuable source of advice and assistance in obtaining
loans, cashing checks and dealing with other banking matters. Many view the bank as
having some sort of mystical power. However, the bank is a business just like any other.
The bank is in the business of selling its financial services to you and values you as a cus-
tomer. The banker is your partner in business, not your adversary. Keep in mind that the
banker wants your business to succeed but also wants to make sure that the debts of the
business will be paid if it fails. For this reason, the banker will often request that the

19

Legal Stuff 2011  4/12/11  8:05 PM  Page 27



owners of a business personally guarantee its debts. Don’t be alarmed or offended if you
are asked to make a guarantee, but simply ask that the bank take a security interest in the
assets of the business instead. This request may not be granted if your business has few
assets. Be sure to check with several banks, because they often vary not only in their
interest rates but also in their policies and procedures.

“Things are going great — let’s expand!”
A business which offers a product or service that is in high demand often finds that

there is a need to expand. If your business has established a good relationship with a
bank, it may be able to expand. This may involve purchasing more equipment or hiring
employees. Two drawbacks to employing others to assist in the operation of your busi-
ness are (1) the business is responsible for withholding and remitting local, state and fed-
eral taxes from the earnings of its employees, including the employer’s share of Social
Security and Medicare taxes, and (2) the business is legally responsible for the actions of
its employees that result in harm to third parties.

Many businesses attempt to avoid responsibility for making the required withhold-
ings from the worker’s earnings by claiming that the individual is an independent con-
tractor. The Internal Revenue Service will, in most cases, find that the worker is an
employee of the business, if the business had the right to control the activities of the
individual. Likewise, the business may be liable to third parties for the actions of an indi-
vidual it claims to be a contractor, if the business exercises too much control over the
individual.

The factors listed here are only a few of those that are important to consider before
starting a business, and in no way are they a substitute for competent legal and account-
ing advice. If the business involves a lease of premises or other financial obligations, it is
a good idea to consult an attorney for advice before entering into such agreements.
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CHAPTER 8 

SMALL CLAIMS COURT 

The purpose of Small Claims Court is to provide an inexpensive forum for dispens-
ing speedy justice so that people with particular problems can go to court without the
expense of an attorney. Filing fees vary from county to county and typically range from
$40 to $65.

Practically any type of complaint you may have which involves a dollar figure less
than $6,000 can be heard and determined by a Small Claims Court. Counties may have
different limits, so you should check with your Small Claims Court or local Clerk before
filing. Furthermore, the Indiana Rules for Small Claims apply to all small claim proceed-
ings in the state of Indiana and should be referenced by any party for a more detailed
description of the rules and explanations discussed herein.
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How to file
To take a small claim action, you must file a simple unverified Notice of Claim in

your local Small Claims Court. You will need to file in the Small Claims Court of the
county where the transaction took place, where the debt was incurred or obligation was
to be performed, or where the defendant lives or works. There is a filing fee and it
changes frequently. The Notice of Claim includes the following:

The court: The name of the court.
The parties: Contact information for yourself and the defendant — name,
address and phone number.
When and where: The place, date and time when the parties are to appear in
court. The date will be set by the court after you file. You should offer the court
staff assistance in choosing a date that fits your schedule.
Brief description: Details of the nature and amount of your claim together with
a copy of the contract, lease, itemized account or any type of written evidence, if
the complaint involves these types of documents.
Pursuant to Indiana state law, the clerk of the court is required to provide you with

the necessary forms and, if requested, to assist you in the preparation of your case. All
parties may appear either in person or by an attorney.

Serving them with the papers 
Service of process — Like any other lawsuit, each defendant is entitled to receive a

copy of your Notice of Claim. The clerk of the court generally handles serving notice to
the defendant(s). Service of process is usually accomplished by sending the Notice of
Claim either by registered or certified mail with return receipt requested, by delivering a
copy to the defendant personally or by leaving a copy at the defendant’s residence. If a
copy is left at the defendant’s residence, the server is also required to send it by first-class
mail to their last known address.

Informality of proceedings — Perhaps the most unique feature of Small Claims
Court is that it dispenses with the formal rules of evidence and limits the pretrial proce-
dures to the issuance of subpoenas (a command to appear in court), which are to be
issued by the court to persons whom you may wish to call as witnesses. If discovery is
sought, it must be done with prior approval of the court. Indiana state law requires a
Small Claims Court trial to be informal with the sole objective of dispensing speedy jus-
tice between the parties according to general principles and rules of law.

If you are sued in Small Claims Court, you have the right to bring a counterclaim
against the plaintiff, defend yourself in person or be represented by an attorney of your
choice. Corporations must go to the expense of hiring a lawyer unless the claim is not
more than $1,500, at which point a full-time employee of the corporation may appear
and either defend or present a claim of the corporation against the other party. Should
you be unavailable on the date and time which the court sets for your trial, you may
apply for a continuance, which changes the date, but each party should be limited to
only one continuance and there are specific rules in each county on the advance notice
required to obtain a continuance. Furthermore, a party to the cause of action is entitled
to a jury trial and such a right is waived unless it is requested within 10 days after the
receipt of the notice of claim.
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What if they don’t show? 
Default judgment — If the defendant fails to appear at the time and place specified

for your Small Claims Court trial, you should ask for a default judgment against him or
her. At this point, the judge must determine the following:

• The defendant was served with Notice of Claim (he or she knew about the
trial date).

• The defendant is not legally disabled and has a sufficient understanding to
realize the nature and affect of the Notice of Claim (he or she was physically
and mentally able to attend).

• The plaintiff has a legitimate claim against the defendant (you are telling the
truth).

What if I didn’t attend the hearing but have a good reason?
Setting aside a default judgment — If a default judgment is entered against you, you

should write to the court stating your legitimate reason why the default judgment should
be set aside. If your request to set aside the default judgment is done in a timely manner,
and demonstrates good reason for your failure to attend, it is likely that the judge will set
aside the default judgment and reschedule the case for trial so that you may tell your
side. If the plaintiff fails to appear at the time and place specified for the Smalls Claims
Court trial, you should request that the court dismiss the plaintiff ’s case.

Judgment — The Small Claims Court rules require that all judgments be reduced to
a document signed by the court and entered by the clerk in the judgment docket. Should
you win at your trial, you are also entitled to recover your court costs. This does not nec-
essarily mean your attorney fees will be paid. Attorney fees are paid only in certain cir-
cumstances as provided by law. Once you have your judgment, you should apply to the
court to assist you in collecting what you are owed. The first step is to file a Proceedings
Supplemental, whereby the judgment debtor is ordered to appear in court and answer
questions under oath about his or her ability to pay based upon income, assets, liabili-
ties, family size, etc. The most common payment arrangements are in the form of a lump
sum, periodic installments and/or garnishment of the defendant’s wages. Since the col-
lection aspect of Small Claims Court is slightly more complex, you may want to consult
an attorney, especially if your judgment is a sizable one.

Small Claims Handbook
The Small Claims Court rules also require each Small Claims Court to have a manual

available for prospective litigants, to help give them their day in court. Also, there is a
helpful Small Claims Handbook, produced by the Indiana Judicial Center, which can
downloaded from in.gov/judiciary/center/pubs/benchbooks/.
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CHAPTER 9 

IF YOU’RE IN
AN AUTO ACCIDENT 

If you are involved in an automobile accident, you should take immediate steps to
determine whether or not anyone in your vehicle or another vehicle is injured. If there
are injuries involved in the accident, you should immediately seek assistance from people
passing by and by dialing 911. Take immediate action and properly report the accident!

Duties of drivers for accidents with injuries or death 
Certain actions are to be taken by the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident

resulting in injury or death. In this type of accident, the driver must immediately stop
the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to the accident as possible in a manner
that does not obstruct traffic more than necessary. The driver must then immediately
return to and remain at the scene of the accident until he or she does the following:

• Gives his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle
he or she was driving.

• Upon request, shows his or her driver’s license to the following:
~ The person injured.
~ The driver or occupant of or the person attending each vehicle involved in

the accident.
• Determines the need for and renders reasonable assistance to each person

injured or entrapped by the accident, including the removal of, or the making
of arrangements for the removal of, each person from the vehicle in which the
person is entrapped and each injured person from the scene of the accident to
a physician or hospital for medical treatment.

The driver must also immediately give notice of the accident by the quickest means of
communication to either:

• The local police department, if the accident occurred within a city or town; or 
• The office of the county sheriff or the nearest state police post, if the accident

occurred outside of a city or town.
• Within 10 days after the accident, the driver must forward a written report of

the accident (Indiana Operator’s Proof of Insurance Crash Report SR21 — State
Form 52441) to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. It is every motorist’s
responsibility to make sure this report is filed with the BMV within 10 days of the
accident, regardless of who initiated the accident.

Duties of passengers for accidents with injuries or death 
If the driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of determining the need for or ren-

dering assistance to any injured or entrapped persons and there is a passenger in the
vehicle at the time of the accident who is capable of determining the need for and ren-
dering reasonable assistance to injured or entrapped persons, the passenger must imme-
diately determine the need for and render reasonable assistance to each person injured
or entrapped under Indiana law.
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Also, if the driver of a vehicle is physically incapable of giving immediate notice of an
accident, the passenger must give notice of the accident by the quickest means of com-
munication to either:

• The local police department, if the accident occurred within a city or town; or 
• The office of the county sheriff or the nearest state police post, if the accident

occurred outside of a city or town.

Duties of drivers for accidents with damages to vehicles,
but without injuries or death

A driver of a vehicle involved in an accident that does not result in injury or
death of a person or the entrapment of a person in a vehicle (and does not
involve the transportation of hazardous materials) but does result in damage to
a vehicle must do the following:
• Immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to the

accident as possible in a manner that does not obstruct traffic more than
necessary.

• Immediately return to and remain at the scene of the accident until he or she
does the following upon request:

• Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle
he or she was driving.

• Give the names and addresses of the owner and any occupants of the vehicle
the driver was driving.

• Provide proof of insurance for the vehicle.
• Show his or her driver’s license to the driver or occupant of or person attend-

ing each vehicle involved in the accident.
If the accident results in total property damage to an apparent extent of at least

$1,000, forward a written report of the accident (Indiana Operator’s Proof of Insurance
Crash Report SR21 — State Form 52441) to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

Duties of drivers for accidents with unattended vehicle
or causing damage other than to a vehicle 

The law in Indiana also has certain requirements when a driver collides with an
unattended vehicle or causes property damage to something other than a vehicle.

If a driver hits an unattended vehicle, the driver must immediately stop and either:
• Locate and notify the operator or owner of the vehicle of the name and

address of the driver and owner of the vehicle that struck the unattended vehi-
cle; or

• Leave in a conspicuous place in the vehicle struck a written notice giving the
name and address of the driver and the owner of the vehicle that did the strik-
ing and a statement of the circumstances of the accident.

If a driver causes damage to the (non-vehicle) property of another person, the driver
must:

• Immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to the accident
as possible in a manner that does not obstruct traffic more than necessary.

• Immediately return to and remain at the scene of the accident until he or she does
the following:
~ Takes reasonable steps to locate and notify the owner or person in charge of the

property about the damage.
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~ Gives the person his or her name and address and the registration number
of his or her vehicle.

~ Upon request, exhibits his or her driver’s license.
If, after reasonable inquiry, the driver of the vehicle cannot find the owner or person

in charge of the damaged property, the driver of the vehicle must do the following:
• Notify either the sheriff of the county in which the damaged property is locat-

ed or a member of the state police department; and
• Give the sheriff or state police department the information required by this 

section.

What should I do if I’m at fault? 
If you believe that you are at fault in causing damage to another person, car or prop-

erty, you should immediately report this to your insurance agent (in addition to the
requirements mentioned previously). You are required to cooperate with your insurance
company or they can refuse to pay for the damages. If there is serious property damage
or personal injury involved in the accident, you should be very careful of any statements
made to anyone except your own insurance company and your attorney. If you are
involved in a serious automobile accident, an attorney can make sure that your rights
and pocketbook are protected.

What do I do if the other person is at fault? 
If you’re involved in an automobile accident that you believe is not your fault, you

should obtain the name, address and phone number of the driver and the owner of the
vehicle, together with the vehicle’s license plate number and registration number. You are
also entitled to examine the other person’s driver’s license, and you should copy all of the
information contained on it.

Again, if there is serious property and/or personal injury involved in the accident, you
should immediately consider contacting or having someone contact an attorney for you.
Depending on the circumstances, and in addition to the reporting requirements already
mentioned, either you or your attorney will contact the insurance company of the
person who is at fault, where they will verify insurance coverage for both the driver
and/or the vehicle involved, and assign a claim number.

The claim number is very important. It allows the insurance
company to quickly track the accident within their organi-
zation so that they can effectively and efficiently pay
for the damages caused by their insured. Be
extremely careful about any statements
you make to the other driver’s insurance
company. A representative will, as a
practical matter, probably contact you
by phone to get a recorded statement
from you about the accident. If
there is serious property damage
or personal injury, you should
refuse to talk to this person alto-
gether and refer the claims
adjuster or investigator to
your attorney.
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CHAPTER 10

WHEN YOU’RE DEAD & GONE

The last thing you’re probably thinking about is dying. After all, you’re too young to
die unless you’re in a fatal car accident or develop a terminal illness.

But we’re all going to die eventually. It’s important to be prepared by having your
affairs in order to relieve the burden on your family and friends.

What happens when I die? 
There are a number of things to be done when someone dies. Aside from making

funeral arrangements, someone must see that your bills are paid and your remaining
property is distributed as you wish. If you have children, a decision must be made as to
who will care for them (generally your spouse, if he or she is living and able to do so).
You can have a say in how these matters are handled if you sign a will — a legal docu-
ment that says how your affairs are to be handled upon your death. To be valid in
Indiana, a will must be signed by you and witnessed by two competent adults, who also
must sign the will in your and each other’s presence.

Regardless of whether you have a will when you die, an estate administration must
generally be opened in your local probate court. Notice of your death is published in the
newspaper to give creditors a chance to file claims against your estate. Someone (an
executor or administrator, depending upon whether you have a will), must be appointed
to oversee your estate administration. This person, also known as a personal representa-
tive, must prepare an inventory of all your property and debts. During the next several
months, bills are paid and property held for safekeeping. If you leave a large estate, there
may be inheritance taxes to pay. Typically about nine months to a year later, your per-
sonal representative will distribute your property to the people your will (beneficiaries)
or the law (heirs) says are to receive it, depending on the value of your estate.

Depending on whether you have a will and what you say in it, and what your heirs
and beneficiaries want, your personal representative can handle most of these matters
without court involvement. Some cases, however, require full court supervision of every
decision. Often attorneys will work with your personal representative to make sure
everything is done properly.

Why have a will? 
This legal document is really your last statement to your family and friends about

how you want things handled. You can say who gets your property (your beneficiaries)
and whether they get it with or without restrictions (as when it is given to them in trust,
a means of saying how the beneficiaries get to use your property). For example, should
they get only the income your property generates? Or should your property be invested
until your beneficiaries reach a certain age, at which time they decide what to do with it?
You’ve probably never thought about these questions, but the answers can be very
important to your family and friends. You can answer these questions in your will.

Also, you can appoint the person who will see that your instructions are followed.
This person (the executor or personal representative) is appointed by your local probate
court to see that your affairs are put in order. If you don’t have a will, your family (and
maybe your friends) will have to decide who gets this responsibility. It may be that you
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really want your best friend to handle these things, but he or she won’t even be consid-
ered unless you put it in your will.

I don’t have anything but debts. Why do I need a will? 
No one dies with nothing. And while there are procedures for collecting property and

paying bills in simple cases, maybe you’ll have some items you want to leave to certain
members of your family or to friends. You can only do so with a will.
And as noted above, signing a will still answers the question of who handles these mat-
ters.

Also, if you have a child, your will is one of the best ways to say who you would want
to raise your child. Otherwise, the court will appoint someone as guardian of your child,
and it may not be who you think is best. Although the ultimate decision is made by the
probate court, a will allows you to have a say in these matters.

What happens if I don’t have a will? 
Aside from the decisions the court will make under the law, you should understand

that the property of a single person with no children will be divided among his or her
parents and brothers and sisters. Your friends will be left out.

If you’re married but have no children, then your spouse and parents will share your
property. If you are married and have children, then your property will be divided
among them to the exclusion of other relatives and friends. Maybe this is what you want,
but if you leave property to young children other than in trust, a special type of
guardianship to manage the property will be required. That can cause unnecessary
expense and emotional strain on your family.

If you’re divorced, your spouse won’t inherit from you. If he or she has custody of
children, then your property could end up in your ex-spouse’s hands as guardian for
your children. A will can solve this problem by setting up a trust for your children.
These rules apply unless you own property jointly with others subject to rights of sur-
vivorship. Under this rule, the surviving owner receives the property regardless of what
you might prefer, even if you say so in a will. Similarly, life insurance proceeds are paid
to the beneficiary named in the policy regardless of what your will says.

What should I do? 
The point of this section is to

show you that decisions will be
made after you die, and whether
those decisions are made in the
way you want really depends
upon what you do now. If you
do nothing, the court will say
what is to be done and how it is
to be done. But you can keep
control of how your family and
friends are treated by keeping
alert as to how you own property
with others and by signing a will
that says who gets your individ-
ual property, how they get it and
who gives it to them.
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RESOURCES — WHERE TO GO FOR HELP

INDIANA STATE OFFICES
Alcohol & Tobacco Commission, 317-232-2430, in.gov/atc/

Attorney General, 317-232-6201, in.gov/attorneygeneral/

Auditor, 317-232-3300, in.gov/auditor/

Bureau of Motor Vehicles, 317-233-6000, in.gov/bmv/

Civil Rights Commission, 317-232-2600, in.gov/icrc/

Commission on Public Records, 317-232-3380, in.gov/icpr/

Consumer Protection, 800-382-5516, in.gov/attorneygeneral/2350.htm

Correction, 317-232-5727, in.gov/idoc/

Education, 800-457-8283, in.gov/core/education.html

Emergency Management Agency, 317-232-3980, in.gov/dhs/

Employment/Training Services, 800-891-6499, in.gov/dwd/2333.htm

Environmental Management, 800-451-6027, in.gov/idem/

Family and Social Services Administrations (FSSA), 800-457-8283, in.gov/fssa/3440.htm

General Assembly (House, 317-232-9600; Senate, 317-232-9400), in.gov/legislative/index.htm

Governor, 317-232-4567, in.gov/gov/

Hazardous Waste, 317-232-8603, in.gov/idem/4995.htm

Health, 317-233-1325, in.gov/isdh/

Homeland Security (Indiana), 317-232-3980, in.gov/dhs/

Hoosier Lottery, hoosierlottery.com, in.gov/mobile/2332.htm

Information Center, 317-800-457-8283, in.gov/core/help.html

Insurance Commissioner, 317-232-2385, in.gov/idoi/

Labor (OHSA), 317-232-2655, in.gov/dol/iosha.htm

Mental Health and Addiction, FSSA, 800-662-4357, in.gov/fssa/dmha/index.htm

Missing Children and Adults, 317-232-8248, in.gov/isp/2333.htm

Natural Resources, 877-463-6367, in.gov/dnr/

Poison Control, 800-222-1222

Police/Fire Emergency Assistance, 911

Professional Licensing, 317-232-2980, in.gov/pla/

Public Defender, 317-232-2542, in.gov/judiciary/pdc/

Real Estate Commission, 317-234-3009, in.gov/pla/real.htm

Revenue, 317-232-2240, in.gov/dor/

Road and Weather Conditions, 317-261-7623, netservices.indot.in.gov/rwis/

Secretary of State, 317-232-6531, in.gov/sos/

State Police Phone Directory, http://www.in.gov/isp/2359.htm

State Police Public Information (non-emergency), 317-899-8293

TrafficWise (traffic conditions), in.gov/indot/2788.htm

Veterans Affairs, 800-400-4520, in.gov/dva/

Workforce Development, 800-891-6499, www.in.gov/dwd/
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FEDERAL OFFICES
Citizenship and Immigration Services, 800-375-5283, uscis.gov

Consumer Product Safety Commission, 800-638-2772, cpsc.gov

Customs Service (Indianapolis Port of Entry), 317-248-4060,

cbp.gov/xp/cgov/toolbox/contacts/ports/in/4110.xml 

Drug Enforcement Administration, 317-226-7977, justice.gov.dea

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 800-669-4000, eeoc.gov

Federal Bureau of Investigation, 317-639-3301, fbi.gov

Food and Drug Administration, 888-463-6332, fda.gov

Homeland Security, 202-282-8000, dhs.gov

Housing Discrimination Complaints (HUD Fair Housing Hub), 317-226-6303, ext. 5014,

hud.gov/complaints/housediscrim.cfm

Internal Revenue Service, 800-829-1040, irs.gov

National Labor Relations Board, 317-226-7381, nlrb.gov

National Weather Service, 317-856-0360, weather.gov, weather.noaa.gov/weather/IN_cc_us.html

Occupational Safety and Health Administration, 800-321-6742, osha.gov

Postal Service, usps.com

Small Business Administration, 317-226-7272, sba.gov

Social Security Administration, 800-772-1213, ssa.gov

U.S. Attorney (Indianapolis), 317-226-6333, justice.gov/usao/ins/; justice.gov/usao/inn/

U.S. Marshals Service, 202-307-9100, justice.gov/marshals/ 

Veterans Administration (Benefits), 800-827-1000, https://iris.custhelp.com/

NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS
Alcoholics Anonymous, 317-632-7864, aa.org

Better Business Bureau, 317-488-2222, indybbb.org

Crisis and Suicide Hotline, 317-251-7575, 800-784-2433

Indiana Chamber of Commerce, 317-264-3110, indianachamber.com

Indiana State Bar Association, 317-639-5465, inbar.org

TAX INFORMATION
Federal: Internal Revenue Service, 800-829-1040, irs.gov

Individual Taxes: Indiana Dept. of Revenue, 317-232-2240, in.gov/dor/3336.htm

Sales Tax: Indiana Dept. of Revenue, 317-233-4016, in.gov/dor/3335.htm

Withholding Tax: Indiana Dept. of Revenue, 317-233-4015, in.gov/dor/3335.htm
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