Indiana Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Requirements

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2009 EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2010

PERIOD

LEARNER'S 15 years with driver's education; 15 years 180 days with
PERMIT 16 years without driver's education driver's education
DRIVER'S Minimum starting age
EDUCATION of 15 years 180 days
PERMIT HOLDING
60 days 180 days

PROBATIONARY
LICENSE

16 years one month with driver's
education; 16 years six months
without driver's education

16 years 180 days with driver's
education; 16 years 270 days

without driver's education

TELE-
COMMUNICATIONS
RESTRICTIONS

Telecommunications devices (cell
phones, texting, etc.) are prohibited
until the age of 18 with the
exception of 9-1-1 emergency calls

PASSENGER
RESTRICTIONS

No passengers for the first 180 days
unless there is another licensed
driver at least 25 years old, a
certified driving instructor, or a
parent/guardian over the age of 21
in the front seat, with exceptions for
a child, sibling or spouse

NIGHTTIME
DRIVING
RESTRICTIONS

10 p.m. - 5 a.m. every day for the
first 180 days of holding a license;
Sunday-Thursday 11 p.m.-5 a.m.;
Friday-Saturday 1 a.m.-5 a.m. until
age 18, with exceptions for school,
work, and church-related functions

o

PARENTS
EE—

One of the most

important things parents

can do to protect new

drivers behind the wheel
is familiarize themselves

with the state’s new
GDL law.

MIN. AGE
WITH NO
RESTRICTIONS

18 years old

CERTIFIED
DRIVING HOURS

50 hours of supervised driving
practice, 10 of which must be at

night, with a certified driving

instructor or licensed driver
that is at least 25 years old
or the individual's spouse

that is at least 21 years of age

HOW TO BE A GOOD

ROAD MODEL
0
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Safe Driving Tips
For Parents of Young Drivers
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TIPS ON BEING A BETTER ROAD MODEL

Motor vehicle collisions are the
leading cause of death among
American teens. In fact,
thousands of young drivers are
killed each year on our nation’s
roadways. In Indiana alone, 136
fatal collisions involved young
drivers in 2008.

Leading Causes of Teen Death

E Motor Vehicle
34% Collisions

® Other
& Homicide
¥ Suicide

17% ¥ Poisoning

()
Data obtained from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

If your teen is just about to
receive their license or if they've had it for some time, it's important to
remind them that driving is a privilege and not a right.

Setting a positive example and encouraging safe driving behaviors could
save your teen’s life.

Learning Starts With You

As a parent, you should:

- Avoid eating, talking on your cell phone,
or playing with the radio while driving.

- Expose your teen to different driving

conditions such as wet roads, snow,
and highways both day and night.

Seatbelts can
increase your
chances of

survival in a crash
by 45 percent.

Take time to supervise your teen while

they are driving even after they receive
their license.

- Become familiar with Indiana’s Graduated
Driver’s Licensing (GDL) laws.

Risk factors for young driver collisions include:

- Inexperience
- Greater propensity for risk-taking
- Inadequate driving skills
- Driving while impaired

- In-vehicle driver distractions
(e.g. passengers, telecommunications
devices, etc)

Did You
Know?

With three or more
passengers, your teen is
four to five times more
likely to be involved in a

fatal crash.
Research also shows that teen
drivers and passengers are less likely
than any other age group to wear their seatbelts.

Set the Rules—And Live By Them

- Educate your teen on Indiana’s GDL law.

- Make your teen responsible for their own tickets.

- Limit the number of passengers while your teen is driving—
even after their first 180 days with a license.

- Enforce severe, long-term consequences for driving
under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs or riding with someone
who is.

- Require your teen to wear a seatbelt at all times —it’s the law and
could save their life!

YOUR RULES TODAY MAY

SAVE YOUR TEEN’S LIFE TOMORROW!




