

Commission on Improving the Status of Children in Indiana

Executive Committee Members

Director Mary Beth Bonaventura Indiana Dept. of Child Services

> Representative David Frizzell District 93

> > John R. Hammond, IV Office of the Governor

Senator Erin Houchin District 47

Hon. Loretta Rush Chief Justice of Indiana

Commission Members

Dr. Jerome Adams, M.D. Indiana State Health Commissioner

Christine Blessinger Executive Director, Indiana Dept. of Correction, Division of Youth Services

Jason Dudich Director, State Budget Agency Curtis Hill

Indiana Attorney General

Senator Tim Lanane District 25

Larry Landis Executive Director, Indiana Public Defender Council

> Susan Lightfoot Chief Probation Officer, Henry County

Jennifer McCormick Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction

Kevin Moore Director, Division of Mental Health Addiction

David Powell Executive Director, Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council

Representative Vanessa Summers

District 99

Dr. Jennifer Walthall, M.D. Secretary, Family and Social Services Administration

Mary Willis Chief Administrative Officer, Indiana Supreme Court

Children's Commission Releases Annual Report

JUNE 26, 2017 - The annual report for the Commission on Improving the Status of Children in Indiana is <u>available online</u>. The 19-page report is a window into the collaborative work being done across all three branches of government to improve the lives of Hoosier children—especially the most vulnerable.

The 18-member Commission developed the report, which includes:

- A new three-year strategic plan, which recognizes four priorities: Child Safety and Services; Juvenile Justice and Cross System Youth; Mental Health and Substance Abuse; and Educational Outcomes.
- Details on recommendations regarding HEA 1369 (innovative juvenile justice programs).
- The development of an iOS and Android <u>information sharing</u> <u>guide mobile app</u> from a 204-page white paper about records related to children.
- Information about the Commission's seven task forces and committees: Child Services Oversight Committee; Communications Committee; Data Sharing and Mapping Committee; Child Safety and Services Task Force; Educational Outcomes Task Force; Juvenile Justice & Cross-System Youth Task Force; and the Mental Health & Substance Abuse Task Force.

Established by Governor Pence in August 2013, the multi-branch Commission aims to improve the status of children in Indiana. In cooperation with other entities, it studies issues concerning vulnerable youth; reviews and makes recommendations concerning pending legislation; and promotes information sharing and best practices. The Commission's next meetings are August 16 and November 8.

For more information, contact a member of the Commission's Communication Committee: <u>Jeremy Brilliant</u> (ATG), <u>Kristin Casper</u> (PDC), <u>Kathryn Dolan</u> (ISC), <u>Jim Gavin</u> (FSSA), <u>Isaac Randolph</u> (DOC), or <u>James Wide</u> (DCS).