

MEDIA CONTACT:

Cara Short at (317) 232-1032 or CShort@che.in.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Wednesday, May 31, 2023

State Awards Over \$1 Million in Teacher Residency Grant Funding

Grants will support nearly 70 teacher residents and 20 school corporations during 2023-24 academic year

(INDIANAPOLIS) – The <u>Indiana Commission for Higher Education</u> has approved renewal requests for the Teacher Residency Grant Pilot Program from twenty school corporations. A total of \$1,020,000 has been awarded to place and train 68 resident teachers within participating school corporations for the upcoming 2023-24 academic year.

For new school corporations who wish to apply, the application is available on the Commission's website.

The Teacher Residency Grant Pilot Program was created in 2019 by the Indiana General Assembly. Modeled after medical residency and apprenticeship programs, teacher residency programs are year-long, paid teaching experiences for student educators who plan on teaching kindergarten through 12th grade. Student educators teach alongside an experienced mentor teacher, which prepares them for success in the classroom after graduation. School corporations partner with an Indiana postsecondary institution to implement the residency program in their district. Institutions provide resources to the corporations, including program monitoring and evaluation, and sourcing of residency candidates.

"The participating school corporations are making strides to develop a pipeline of well-prepared future educators all across Indiana," said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Chris Lowery. "Under the teacher residency model, mentor teachers prepare resident teachers for the challenges they will face in the classroom."

Teacher Residency Grants Awarded to 20 School Corporations

School corporations are awarded \$15,000 for each resident teacher hosted. Funding is used to pay resident and mentor teacher stipends, as well as support costs for postsecondary partners.

SCHOOL CORPORATION	LOCATION	ТҮРЕ	POSTSECONDARY PARTNER	AY 2023-24 AWARD
Beech Grove City Schools	Beech Grove	Public	Marian University	\$45,000
Community Montessori	New Albany	Charter	Indiana University Southeast	\$60,000
Community Schools of Frankfort	Frankfort	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$60,000
Garrett-Keyser-Butler Community School District	Garrett	Public	Purdue Fort Wayne	\$30,000
Hamilton Heights School Corporation	Arcadia	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$45,000
Lafayette School Corporation	Lafayette	Public	Purdue University West Lafayette	\$90,000
Logansport Community School Corporation	Logansport	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$75,000
Maconaquah School Corporation	Bunker Hill	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$45,000

Madison-Grant United School Corporation	Fairmount	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$45,000
Metropolitan School District of Decatur Township	Indianapolis	Public	Marian University	\$30,000
Mississinewa Community Schools	Gas City	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$60,000
New Albany Floyd County Consolidated Schools	New Albany	Public	Indiana University Southeast	\$30,000
Noblesville Schools	Noblesville	Public	Indiana University Bloomington	\$60,000
Perry Township Schools	Indianapolis	Public	Marian University	\$45,000
Seymour Community Schools	Seymour	Public	Indiana University Southeast & IUPUC	\$45,000
Southwest Parke Community Schools	Montezuma	Public	Indiana State University	\$30,000
Tipton Community School Corporation	Tipton	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$30,000
Vigo County School Corporation	Terre Haute	Public	Indiana State University	\$120,000
Western School Corporation	Russiaville	Public	Indiana University Kokomo	\$45,000
Whitley County Consolidated Schools	Columbia City	Public	Purdue Fort Wayne	\$30,000

More information is available on the Commission's website.

###

About the Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Created in 1971, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education plans, coordinates and defines Indiana's postsecondary education system to align higher learning with the needs of students and the state. The Commission also administers Indiana's financial aid programs, including the 21st Century Scholars early college promise scholarship, which celebrated 30 years in 2020. Learn more about the Commission's Reaching Higher in a State of Change strategic plan at www.in.gov/che.