COMMISSION FOR HIGHER EDUCATION

Friday, June 10, 2011

INFORMATION ITEM D: Minutes of the May 2011 Commission Working Sessions

MINUTES OF THE COMMISSION WORKING SESSIONS

Thursday, May 12, 2011

I. CALL TO ORDER

The Commission for Higher Education met in working session starting at 6:30 p.m. (ET) at University of Indiana-Kokomo campus in Kokomo, Indiana. Commission members in attendance were Cynthia Baker, Jerry Bepko, Dennis Bland, Marilyn Moran-Townsend, Carol D'Amico, Jud Fisher, George Rehnquist, Keith Hansen, Chris LaMothe, Chris Murphy, and Michael Smith.

Absent were: Eileen Odum, Ken Sendelweck and Susana Duarte de Suarez

Staff present: Teresa Lubbers, Jason Bearce, Jon Gubera, Jason Dudich, Ken Sauer, and Catisha Coates.

II. DISCUSSION

- A. Jon Gubera, Associate Commissioner for Policy and Jason Dudich, Chief Financial Officer, presented a summary of the legislation that passed in the 2011 General Assembly that affected CHE and higher education, including an emphasis on the results in higher education funding for the biennium.
- B. Jon Gubera, Associate Commissioner for Policy, presented on the policy for dual credit courses including CHE's newly legislatively mandated role of setting rates to be charged to Indiana students taking dual credit courses in a high school setting from Indiana public universities.
- C. Jason Dudich, Chief Financial Officer, presented the findings and methodology used for the staff's recommendation for CHE's legislatively required setting of non-binding tuition and fee increases for each of Indiana's public universities over the biennium (FY 2012 &13).

III. ADJOURNMENT

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:30 p.m. (ET).

MINUTES OF THE COMMISSION WORKING SESSIONS

Friday, May 13, 2011

IV. CALL TO ORDER

The Commission for Higher Education met in working session starting at 7:45 a.m. (ET) at University of Indiana-Kokomo campus in Kokomo. Commission members in attendance were Cynthia Baker, Jerry Bepko, Dennis Bland, Marilyn Moran-Townsend, Carol D'Amico, Jud Fisher, George Rehnquist, Keith Hansen, Chris LaMothe, Chris Murphy, and Michael Smith.

Absent were: Eileen Odum, Ken Sendelweck and Susana Duarte de Suarez

Staff present: Teresa Lubbers, Jason Bearce, Jon Gubera, Jason Dudich, Ken Sauer, and Catisha Coates.

V. DISCUSSION

- A. Chancellor Harris of Indiana University-Kokomo gave a presentation about the school and its strategic plan working in concert with CHE's 2010 policy on the roles of regional campuses.
- B. Jason Bearce, Associate Commissioner for Communication, presented staff's proposed resolution concerning adopting new goals for college and career educational attainment in Indiana.
- C. Jon Gubera, Associate Commissioner for Policy, briefed Members on staff's proposed policy on the *Role of Vincennes University*.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:52 a.m. (ET).