#### COMMISSION FOR HIGHER EDUCATION

Friday, March 13, 2009

**INFORMATION ITEM D:** Minutes of the February 2009 Commission Working Sessions

## MINUTES OF COMMISSION WORKING SESSION

Thursday, February 12, 2009

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

The Commission for Higher Education met in working session starting at 6:00 p.m. (ET) at IUPUI, University Place Hotel, Presidents Room, Indianapolis, Indiana, with Vice Chair Michael Smith presiding. The following Commission members were present: Gerald Bepko (via teleconference), Dennis Bland, Carol D'Amico, Michael Fisher, Dick Johnson, Gary Lehman, Chris Murphy, George Rehnquist, Ken Sendelweck, and Clayton Slaughter.

Also in attendance were State Representative Cindy Noe, State Representative Greg Porter, State Representative Matt Pierce, State Representative Mary Ann Sullivan, State Senator Dennis Kruse, and Larry Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC).

# II. DISCUSSION

- A. Following dinner, Mr. Larry Isaak of MHEC spoke briefly about his organization and offered a brief preview of his prepared remarks to be delivered at the CHE business the next morning.
- B. Mr. Jeff Spalding offered a brief review of several notable bills that the Commission staff was tracking through the legislative process. The bills addressed were: SB39 Tuition Exemption for Purple Heart Recipients; HB1001 Biennial Budget Bill; HB1188 College Head Start; HB1311 Hearing Aid Program; HB1389 21<sup>st</sup> Century Scholars Enrollment; HB1537 Higher Education Accountability; and HB1723 Elementary & Secondary Education Funding.
- C. Vice Chair Mike Smith initiated an open discussion on higher education policy matters with the invited State legislators attending the meeting. Vice Chair Smith then yielded to Mr. Chris Murphy who offered a brief overview of the Commission's recently released Reaching Higher strategic plan and the overarching aspirations lays out for Indiana's higher education system. Mr. Murphy's comments generated a robust discussion among the Commission members and legislators on matters of accountability for the State's public universities, the structure of our State higher education system, and recruitment of non-resident students by Indiana University-Bloomington and Purdue University West Lafayette.

## III. ADJOURNMENT

The Vice Chair adjourned the meeting at approximately 8:30 p.m. (ET).

#### MINUTES OF COMMISSION WORKING SESSION

Friday, February 13, 2009

#### I. CALL TO ORDER

The Commission for Higher Education met in working session starting at 7:45 a.m. (ET) at, University Place Hotel, Presidents Room, Indianapolis, Indiana, with Chair Jon Costas presiding. The following members were present: Gerald Bepko (via teleconference), Dennis Bland, Carol D'Amico, Michael Fisher, Dick Johnson, Marilyn Moran-Townsend, George Rehnquist, Ken Sendelweck, Clayton Slaughter, and Kathy Tobin.

Also in attendance were Claudia Braman, Executive Director, State Student Assistance Commission of Indiana (SSACI), Dennis Obergfell, Deputy Director, SSACI, and Larry Isaak, President, Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC).

## II. DISCUSSION

- A. In response to a prior request from Commission members to for additional analysis from SSACI, regarding the Children of Veterans and Public Safety Officers (CVO) college fee remission program, Ms. Claudia Braman offered suggestions on how the program might be modified to more effectively focus its aid on students with bona fide financial need.
- B. Dr. Ken Sauer distributed the results of a recent survey, conducted by CHE staff, of existing university property insurance coverage. This information was provided in preparation for the presentation by MHEC, at the ensuing CHE business meeting, on their group property insurance program for higher education institutions.
- C. Mr. Ken Sauer presented a brief update on growing participation in the e-Transcript program by students and schools.
- D. Ms. Cheryl Orr presented a brief preview of the FAFSA Friday press conference scheduled for later that morning (10:00 am), during a break in the CHE business meeting.

## III. ADJOURNMENT

The Chair adjourned the meeting at 8:55 a.m. (ET).