

TRANSFER OF OUT-OF-STATE TITLE TO INDIANA

Vehicle and Watercraft Title Application Checklist

Indiana residents who have purchased a vehicle or watercraft from a dealer located in a different state may mail their application for certificate of title to the BMV Central Office. Prior to submitting an application, verify the required information is included. Contact (888) 692-6841 with any questions.

When submitting paperwork, include the following:

- <u>Completed and signed Application for Certificate of Title for a Vehicle State Form 205 or Application for Certificate of Watercraft Title State Form 38529.</u>
- □ Proof of Ownership: (one item from each line is required)
 - A manufacturer's certificate of origin or certificate of title; and

Bill of sale, purchase order, or sales contract.

- Odometer Disclosure Statement State Form 43230, if the odometer statement is not completed on the certificate of title or certificate of origin. Trailers, vehicles over 16,000 pounds, and watercraft are exempt from federal odometer disclosure statement requirements and therefore this form is not required for those vehicle types.
- Completed and signed Physical Inspection of a Vehicle or Watercraft State Form 39530
- One proof of address. A copy of your driver's license or identification card may be accepted as proof if the address on the credential is correct. If the address is not correct, any document from the approved <u>BMV Documentation List</u> that is dated within the last 60 days may be used as proof. To view the approved documentation list, click on the link provided or visit <u>myBMV.com</u>.
- Collection of Payment Form (BMV)-State Form 56163. Submit payment for the following vehicle or watercraft (as applicable)title application fees and taxes. Fees and taxes are payable by MasterCard or Visa, check, electronic check, or money order.

 \Box \$15 title application fee.

- □ \$30 additional administrative penalty will be assessed on a title application packet received 45 days after the purchase date.
- □ \$25 speed title fee. This **optional** fee is in addition to the \$15 title application fee. Paying the optional speed title fee ensures that the title is processed in a period of time that is substantially shorter than the normal processing period.
- Remit 7% sales tax or proof of sales tax paid.
 - 7% sales tax is due on all motor vehicle sales to Indiana residents. If you did not pay 7% sales tax on this purchase, a completed and signed <u>ST108E Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Exemption State Form 48841</u>, with the Sales/ Use Tax Worksheet portion completed, is required. The total amount due on Line 4 of that worksheet must be included with your payment.
 - If you paid more than 7% sales tax, no further remittance is required.
 - If the purchase is exempt from sales tax, a completed and signed <u>ST108E Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax</u> <u>Exemption – State Form 48841</u> is required. Please note, the exemption number must be listed on the <u>ST-108E –</u> <u>Certificate of Gross Retail or Use Tax Exemption – State Form 48841</u> for it to be considered complete.

Uvehicle color: _____(List color on line)

□ Vehicle fuel type (select one):

□ Gasoline □ Diesel □ Hybrid □ Electric □ Other

For your convenience, the required forms are included with this checklist. The forms are also available at myBMV.com. Mail the **completed** packet to:

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles Winchester Processing Center 309 West South Street Winchester, IN 47394

If the BMV determines that sufficient credible evidence exists to substantiate the applicant's claim of ownership, a title will be issued. If all required documents are not submitted, or information is incomplete, the entire application will be returned to sender.

Please include this checklist with your application