Agency Main Banner Content
Current Operations Information
Expiration Date and Late Fee Extensions
FAQs for Customers
FAQs for CDLs, For-Hire, and MCS
Current Operations Information
128 BMV branches will open on Monday, May 11 by appointment only. Please keep reading for information on what transactions are available and how you can schedule. Remember, if you can conduct your business with the BMV online, you should!
The BMV will enforce Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) and CDC guidelines to provide for the safety of customers and employees. Please review the requirements below to make an appointment and make sure you understand visit requirements prior to your appointment.
Expiration Date and Late Fee Extensions
Through Executive Order, Governor Holcomb waived Administrative Penalty Fees (late fees) through June 30, 2020.
The expiration date for Hoosiers holding a driver's license, permit, state identification card, or vehicle registration card that has expired during the public health emergency is effectively extended through June 30. Individuals need to complete their renewal transactions prior to July 1 to avoid paying an administrative penalty fee. Title transactions and new vehicle registration must also be complete prior to July 1.
- Administrative penalty fees waived (more commonly called late fees)
The following administrative penalty fees are waived through June 30, 2020:
- $6 for late driver’s license or identification card renewals
- $15 for late vehicle registration renewals
- $30 for late title transactions
- $15 for late ORV and snowmobile registration renewals
- $10 for late salvage titles
- Please complete your transaction now to avoid the administrative penalty fee
- Credit card fees for online transactions will be waived
Indiana law provides for BMV to collect an online fee to cover the cost of the transaction. The normal fee is $1 plus 1.99% of the transaction. These fees will be waived through June 30, 2020.
Preparing to Complete Your BMV Transaction
Before you schedule an appointment, review the below chart to understand what transactions should be completed by appointment at a branch versus online through myBMV or at a BMV Connect kiosk. The kiosks will be available in all open branches as well as 5 Kroger grocery stores across the state.
PLEASE NOTE: If you can complete your transaction online or at a BMV Connect kiosks you are required to do so instead of scheduling a branch appointment.
Scheduling an Appointment
If you cannot complete your BMV transaction online or at a kiosk, you can schedule an appointment through our Appointment System. Make sure to watch the instructional video below on scheduling for more details.
- Driving skills exams are NOT available at this time. We will re-evaluate availability of these exams in early July.
- If multiple members of your household (i.e. spouses or minors) need to make transactions with the BMV, you MUST make separate appointments for each individual.
- If you have an out-of-state license, an ID card, or do not have a driver's license, please type 10 zeros in the Driver's License Field in the Appointment System.
Before closing your browser, make note of your confirmation number, appointment day and time, as well as the branch address. Make sure to watch this quick instructional video on scheduling for further assistance.
Lookup an Existing Appointment
If you forgot to write down your appointment time or just want to double check, you can now use our Appointment Lookup Tool! Just input the phone number you used to schedule your appointment and your last name.
Arriving for Your Appointment
When you arrive for your appointment, please be prepared with:
- Photo ID
- All documents needed to complete your transaction
If you are unsure what documents you need, please review the appropriate section of our website (i.e., Registration, Real ID, Titles, etc.)
If you have questions about your transaction or scheduling an appointment, call our Contact Center. The team is available Monday – Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. ET and can be reached at 888-692-6841.
Cancelling an Appointment
The BMV has a maximum number of appointments it can take each day. We ask that if you cannot make your appointment you take time to cancel it. You can cancel an appointment by:
- Logging in to the Appointment Scheduler
- Select ‘Cancel Appointment’
- Enter your confirmation number and last name
- Follow the prompts to cancel
Branches are open by appointment only and we have adjusted operations to maintain safety. Please review the below requirements and important information.
Hours of Operation
- Appointments are available beginning at 9:00 a.m. Monday through Saturday
- The last appointment of each day will be scheduled at 4:30 p.m.
- You can see those hours when you are scheduling or view
Appointments are Required
- Customers arriving at a branch without an appointment will be turned away
Ensuring Employee and Customer Safety
In line with ISDH and CDC recommendations, the BMV will do the following to ensure employees and customers safety:
- Allow time in between appointments to clean/sanitize space
- Have supplies for employees to wash and sanitize their hands regularly
- Have a Plexiglas barrier between employees and customers
- Require 6ft of spacing between customers waiting for appointments
FAQs for Customers
Please review these frequently asked questions for additional information. Many transactions can be done through online services or are impacted by extended expiration dates.
- What is the status of expiration dates and late fees?
Please see the section above for Expiration Date and Late Fee Extensions.
- Are kiosks available for use?
- How do I take care of transactions if I don’t have access to the internet?
You can now schedule certain transactions by appointment. Learn more here: https://www.in.gov/bmv/2405.htm. Please call our Contact Center at 888-692-6841 for assistance if you transaction cannot by scheduled by appointment.
Extending Driver's License & State ID Expiration
- My application for a Time and age Waiver was approved, but the license Branch is not scheduling skills tests. Can I still get my license?
Not until the BMV resumes skills testing. Indiana law requires individuals to pass a skills test before the BMV can issue them a license.
- Will requests for hardship waivers be granted if the letter is more than 30 days old?
Yes, the Waiver will be reissued without reapplication if the initial 30-day period passes.
- Will Motorcycle Learner’s Permits expire on their stated expiration date or will they be extended?
All permits, driver’s license and identification cards expiration dates remain unchanged. The BMV is waiving administrative penalty fees (late fees) on expired cards through June 30, 2020.
- Will snowbirds or other Hoosiers traveling OOS be ticketed for operating with an expired license?
Although that may occur, most states are honoring expired driver’s license resulting from service interruptions caused by the COVID-19 public health emergency.
- My driver’s license expired recently and I need to fly next week. Will TSA let me through the checkpoint?
If your driver's license or state-issued ID expired on or after March 1, 2020, and you are unable to renew at your state driver’s license agency, you may still use it as acceptable identification at the checkpoint. TSA will accept expired driver’s licenses or state-issued ID a year after expiration or 60 days after the duration of the emergency, whichever is longer.
- I have an appointment with USCIS. Are they closed too?
On March 18, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services temporarily suspended routine in-person services to help slow the spread of COVID-19. Please visit the USCIS website for further information about the impact of this temporary suspension on in-person services.
- The Social Security office is closed and I can’t get a replacement card. What can I do?
All local Social Security offices will be closed to the public for in-person service starting Tuesday, March 17, 2020. For more information about changes to their services please visit the Social Security Administration webpage on COVID updates.
Indiana residents can order a replacement Social Security card from home. Please go to the Social Security Adminitration website for more information on ordering your replacement card.
- I can’t submit my insurance document (usually SR22) or I can’t continue to pay for my SR22 insurance. Will my license still get suspended?
Indiana has not waived the requirement to carry insurance. If your insurance company provides the BMV an SR26 in cancellation of the SR22 requirement, your license will be suspended. All payment conversations must take place between the customer and the insurance company.
- How do I take care of my suspension requirements when the courts are closed (example, Failure to Appear)?
You must contact the court directly to discuss what arrangements are being made for court case logs.
Knowledge & Skills Exams
- When will the BMV have skills exams available again?
The BMV has suspended all Driver Skills Exams during this time.
- Are driver training schools open?
Please check with the individual school. A list of driver training schools who have told the BMV they are closed can be found here.
- Will the BMV provide me with proof that skills exam have been suspended?
No, information will be posted on our website.
- In the event that an out-of-state customer cannot present the necessary information for Real ID, are we waiving knowledge exams should their existing driver's license or state ID expire before they can practically obtain the necessary information?
Yes, customers who’s out-of-state license expires during the COVID-19 public health emergency will not have to take the knowledge test to obtain their Indiana license.
- Have changes been made to the Driver Training Instructor application and renewal process?
Yes, several requirements have changed. You can find more information here in the Driver Training Instructor Resources and Classes.
- How do I renew my registration if I can’t do it at the branch or I haven’t received my renewal notice?
Registration renewals may be completed at a BMV Connect Kiosk or over the phone. If renewing your registration over the phone, you will need the access code provided on the registration renewal reminder notice you received in the mail.
- My license plates have expired and my local BMV branch is closed, what should I do?
Log in or create an online account at myBMV.com.
- I bought a new car and the dealer sent me a title application along with instructions to visit a BMV branch for registering the vehicle. Do I have other options?
- My registrations are expiring but I’m required to get an emissions test done first. Can I renew now and get my emissions test later?
An emissions test is still required before renewal. Law enforcement is aware of BMV operational changes due to the COVID-19 public health emergency. Several Clean Air Check locations are now open. Visit their website for more information.
- Will I have to pay an administrative penalty fee (late fee) if I expire during the time skills test suspensions and branch closures are in place?
- Will I have to pay extra if I don’t renew my plates on time?
- I just purchased a vehicle but I haven’t transferred the title into my name. What can I do?
You can now schedule certain transactions by appointment, including a title transfer. Learn more here: https://www.in.gov/bmv/2405.htm. While you wait for your appointment, if you need to operate the vehicle, you may carry a copy of the title and/or bill of sale with you. DO NOT carry the actual title in the vehicle with you. Law enforcement is aware of the BMV operational changes at this time.
- There is an error on my title and my local BMV branch is closed. Can I come downtown to the Central Office to have this corrected quickly or do I need to mail it in?
You can now schedule certain transactions by appointment, including updates to an existing title. Learn more here: https://www.in.gov/bmv/2405.htm.
Full & Partial Service Providers
- Are Clean Air Car Check stations open for me to get my emissions tests?
Several clean air checks will reopen on Tuesday, May 5. Please read the EPA news release for more information.
- I’m a dealer and my local BMV branch is closed. I went to another location and was told to mail my work in. What does that mean?
A letter addressing your concerns may be found on the Secretary of States's website outlining steps to take.
- What transactions can be completed at a branch right now?
Transactions You CAN Complete by Appointment
- Knowledge Testing
- Commercial Driver License
- New Driver License, Learner Permit, or Identification Card*
- Renew Driver License, Learner Permit, or Identification Card
- Amend a Current Driver License, Learner Permit, or Identification Card
- Replacement Driver License, Learner Permit, or Identification Card
- Title Transfer
- Update to an Existing Title
- New Registration
- Disability Placard
*Driving skills exams are NOT available at this time. We will re-evaluate availability of these exams in early July.
Transactions You CANNOT Complete by Appointment
These transactions should be completed online, at a kiosk or by phone or mail. Also, driving skills exams are suspended until further notice.
- Registration Renewal
- Registration Amendment
- Duplicate Registration
- Duplicate Title
- Is the BMV enforcing the requirement for in-person visit for every other license renewal?
Yes, the requirement for an in-person visit for every other license renewal is still being enforced. You can schedule an appointment for this and other transactions. If your license has already expired, administrative penalty fees (late fees) are waived through June 30, 2020. Please renew online today or schedule a branch appointment.
- Will military customers be able to amend, renew, or replace with a remote visit?
The BMV cannot support remote transactions at this time. Customers may print off the Military Extension Letter from myBMV.com.
- Will Ride Safe Indiana completions be valid beyond the 1 year expiration date or will they be extended?
Yes, provided the RSI completion expires during the COVID-19 public health emergency.
Driver's License or State ID
- I cannot renew my driver's license or registration online at myBMV.com. Why is this happening?
There are many reasons for being unable to renew online including but not limited to:
- Address or Name Change
- License or Registration has been expired for too long
- Plate type not available for renewal online or no longer offered
- myBMV error code when trying to add to cart
If you are unable to renew your Driver’s License online, you may schedule a branch appointment at this time to renew.
If you are unable to renew your registration online, you may be able to mail in to renew at this time. Please see https://www.in.gov/bmv/2448.htm for more information.
- How do I renew my driver's license?
You are currently able to visit a branch for renewal by appointment only.
- I am trying to schedule an appointment but do not have an Indiana Driver’s License Number (DLN) to enter on the form.
If you have an out-of-state license, an ID card, or do not have a driver's license, please type 10 zeros in the Driver's License Field in the Appointment System.
- How can I check on the mailing status on my driver's license or state ID?
Customers can find this information by logging into their myBMV account or contacting the BMV Customer Contact Center at 888-692-6841.
- My driver's license or state ID was supposed to be mailed to my local branch but now it is closed. What can I do to get my license?
Contact the BMV Customer Contact Center at 888-692-6841.
- Will driver's license or state ID mailing turn-around-times be affected the COVID-19 shutdown?
Not at this point, but that could occur depending on the severity of pandemic.
FAQ for CDLs and MCS
All BMV branches remain closed to in-person general public activity to reduce the spread of COVID-19 and protect all Hoosiers. Special operations begin Monday, April 6 for CLP and CDL transactions. You can click through for more below as well as read frequently asked questions for Commercial Driver's Licenses and Motor Carrier Services.
COVID-19 Updates for CDLs and For-Hire
Attention CDL and For-Hire Drivers! Certain in-person transactions are available by appointment only. Find info on how to make an appointment, as well as a list of CDL vendors that are currently closed.
FAQs for New CLP/CDL Transactions in Branches
- Will CDL drivers who hold a Restricted Class B CDL, or an agricultural CDL, be able to add a hazmat endorsement?
Under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulation, a Restricted Class B CDL holder cannot apply for or obtain a hazardous materials endorsement. So no, they cannot obtain a hazmat endorsement.
- What if someone has completed training and medical exams in another state while holding their Indiana CLP? Can they still apply for their CDL in Indiana?
Yes, as long as all other requirements are met these individuals would qualify for a new CDL transaction.
- How can I schedule an appointment?
You can now schedule certain transactions by appointment online. Learn more here: https://www.in.gov/bmv/2405.htm.
- Do these new special appointment hours impact Truck Driver Training Schools? Are they required to be open?
Training schools are not required to open under this change. Whether to be open or not is completely at the discretion of each individual school.
- How are commercial motor vehicle titling and registration transactions being handled?
General FAQs for Commercial Driver's Licenses
- How can I submit my MER and MEC to the BMV?
Use one of the following options to submit the completed MER and MEC:
Please note the file must be in PDF format.
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Attn: CDL Programs
100 North Senate Ave, IGCN, Room N481
Indianapolis, IN 46204
- Are truck driver training schools open?
Please check with the individual school. A list of truck driver training schools who have told the BMV they are closed can be found here.
- Do current exceptions made for CDL operations affect CLP holdings as dictated by FMCSA?
FMCSA has waived the 14 day CLP holding time to schedule a CDL skills test.
- I need to take my CDL knowledge exam or other required exam(s), can I still go to a BMV Branch to take it?
The BMV is now offering appointments for CDL exams. Please review the requirements and how to schedule an appointment on our special CDL/CLP COVID-19 page.
- I need to schedule my CDL Skills exam, are they still being offered?
The BMV utilizes 3rd party testing sites for CDL Skills examination. A list of all current operating skills sites is located on the BMV website. This information will be updated as needed should a location notify the BMV that they are suspending operation.
- My CDL Physical is expiring and I can’t get into the doctor. What do I do?
Currently the BMV will not downgrade or disqualify an individual for an expired CDL Medical during the National Emergency response to COVID-19. This became effective 03/19/2020 and will stay in effect until June 30, 2020. All CDL Operators should still provide a new medical certification to the BMV as required as soon as it is feasibly possible. Please contact FMCSA for further information.
FAQs related to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
- Are loads that include supplies related to direct assistance under the emergency declaration mixed with other, un-related materials covered under the declaration?
Generally, yes, however, mixed loads with only a nominal quantity of qualifying emergency relief added to obtain the benefits of this emergency declaration are not covered.
- Is a driver required to take a 30-minute break?
No, none of the hours of service regulations apply while the driver is engaged with providing direct assistance under the emergency relief exemption.
- How do the hours a driver worked under the emergency exemption impact the 60/70-hour rule when the driver goes back to normal operations?
The hours worked providing direct assistance under the emergency relief exemption do not count toward the 60/70- hour rule.
- Is a 34-hour restart required after providing direct assistance under the emergency declaration?
No, however, upon completion of the direct assistance and prior to returning to normal operations, the driver is required to meet the requirements of §§ 395.3(a) and (c) and 395.5(a), which include, for example, the requirement to take 10 hours off duty (8 hours for passenger carriers) and to comply with the on-duty limit of 60/70 hours in 7/8 days before returning to driving.
- Is the driver required to use a paper logbook or ELD?
No, the emergency exemption includes relief from all the hours-of service regulations in 49 CFR part 395, including the recordkeeping requirements (i.e., records of duty status
- If there is an ELD in the truck, what should a driver do to account for the miles driven?
There are three options:
- Use the “authorized personal use” (personal conveyance) function of the ELD to record all of the time providing direct assistance under the exemption. Use of this function will result in the time being recorded as off duty and requires an annotation.
- Use the ELD in its normal mode and annotate the ELD record to indicate they were driving under the emergency relief exemption; or
- Turn off the ELD, in which case the carrier would address the unassigned miles in accordance with the current regulation.
- What does a driver need to do if taking a backhaul not covered by the exemption after transporting an exempt load?
Upon completion of the direct assistance activities and prior to returning to normal operations, the driver is required to take 10 consecutive hours off duty before driving. All the time the driver spends engaged in work-related activities that are not associated with providing direct assistance must be counted under the HOS rules.
- Are livestock a covered commodity under the terms of the emergency declaration?
Yes, Livestock are covered as a precursor to food. The emergency declaration covers
“immediate precursor raw materials—such as paper, plastic or alcohol—that are required and to be used for the manufacture of items” including food needed for the emergency restocking of stores.
- Are haulers of household waste and medical waste covered under the terms of the declaration?
Yes, transportation for removal of both household and medical waste is covered as
“supplies and equipment necessary for community safety, sanitation, and prevention of community transmission of COVID-19.”
- What documentation is needed to verify that the driver is operating under the exemption?
There is no specific documentation required for verification. Retention of ordinary business records, such as the bill of lading, may be useful later for the convenience of the motor carrier and driver, to document use of the exemption during a future inspection or enforcement action.
- Does FMCSA have preemptive authority over states that decide/attempt to close highway rest stops?
No, however FMCSA is working closely with the States to ensure adequate truck parking and facilities are available.