Note: This message is displayed if (1) your browser is not standards-compliant or (2) you have you disabled CSS. Read our Policies for more information.
The State of Indiana issues new driver’s licenses and learner’s permits at BMV license branches. All applicants for new driver’s licenses or learner’s permits must meet Indiana SecureID requirements. These standards comply with federal security laws. The applicant must present documents verifying their identity, Social Security number, United States lawful status and Indiana residency.
Persons who are not United States citizens (legal temporary or permanent residents) are required to have a SecureID and must present full documentation to be issued a new credential, or to, renew or amend a credential. This includes providing documents which prove identity, Social Security number, United States lawful status and Indiana residency. This documentation is not required when replacing a valid SecureID.
If you are less than 75 years of age, your driver’s license is valid for six years. If you are at least 75 years of age and less than 85 years of age, your driver’s license is valid for three years. If you are at least 85 years of age, your driver’s license is valid for two years.
You may renew your driver’s license at any Indiana license branch up to one year before the license expires. A knowledge test is not required when you renew a driver’s license, unless you have accumulated six or more points on your driver record since your previous renewal, or your license has been expired for more than 180 days.
Customers who are renewing, amending or replacing their current Indiana credential have the option of applying for a SecureID or a non-SecureID.A non-SecureID does not require additional documentation and allows the holder to drive and/or vote. Hoosiers who want a SecureID are asked to bring original versions or certified copies of their identity documents to the license branch so they can obtain a new SecureID credential.
Learner’s permits allow Indiana residents to practice driving before obtaining a driver’s license.
You may obtain a learner's permit if you are at least 15 years of age and are enrolled in an approved driver education program. You must show proof of your enrollment in an approved driver education program by presenting a valid Certificate of Driver Education Enrollment from the program. You must also present documents of identification, pass a vision screening test and pass a knowledge examination.
To obtain a learner's permit without driver’s educationou must be 16 years of age or older, and you must present documents of identification at a license branch, pass a vision screening test and pass a knowledge examination.
Do not forget to download, complete, and keep track of your supervised practice driving, while holding your learner’s permit. You may download the Log of Supervised Driving. A completed and signed log must be presented during your application for a driver’s license.
To obtain an Indiana driver's license, you must meet age requirements and have held an Indiana learner's permit for 180 days (approximately six months).
If you have successfully completed an approved driver education program you must be at least 16 years and 90 days old (approximately 16 years and three months) to obtain a driver's license.
If you have not successfully completed an approved driver education program you must be at least 16 years and 270 days old (approximately 16 years and nine months) to obtain a driver's license.
If you are under the age of 21 when you obtain your Indiana driver's license, your license is considered probationary.
If you are 21 years of age or older your Indiana driver's license is not probationary.
Endorsements and restrictions change the circumstances in which an individual may operate a motor vehicle. Some endorsements and restrictions also apply to identification cards.
You must arrive at least 15 minutes before your scheduled appointment time to take a driving skills test.
You do not need to schedule an appointment for a knowledge examination unless you need to have the test read to you or you are deaf or hard of hearing. You must arrive at least one hour before a branch closes to take a knowledge examination. Appointments for applicants who are deaf and hard of hearing can be made by a branch manager or by calling the BMV’s Contact Center at the number on the bottom of this page.
The vision screening test measures your visual acuity.
Indiana also issues licenses for commercial drivers, chauffeurs, and motorcycle riders.
If you are under the age of 75, you may renew your license or ID card online if your name and address have remained the same since the last time you received your license or ID card and you do not require testing. You may renew your driver's license or identification card online if your previous renewal transaction was completed in a license branch. You will need to provide your name, date of birth, legal address, driver’s license number/identification card number, and Social Security number in order to renew or replace your license or identification card online. Driver’s license and identification card holders with temporary or permanent lawful status must visit a branch location to complete a renewal or replacement transaction.
If you must visit a branch, here is a list of BMV locations.
You may obtain a new learner's permit once your current permit expires, or replace one that is lost or stolen, by visiting a license branch and presenting certain documents of identification.
An out-of-country driver's license cannot be used for identification purposes. Out-of-country driver's license must be in the English language or presented with a verifiably accurate English translation of the document.
If you have an out-of-country driver's license and intend to become a resident of Indiana, you must pass the vision screening test, written knowledge test and driving skills test to obtain an Indiana driver's license.
All documents proving your identity, Social Security number, lawful status and Indiana residency will be verified through a central verification process. The BMV will issue an interim license, valid for 30 days, authorizing the holder to drive pending authentication of documents submitted to the BMV.
Once the BMV has verified the documentation that you have provided, the BMV will mail the license, learner’s permit, or identification card to you. If the documents cannot be verified, you will receive a letter explaining the determination and your rights to request an administrative hearing to review the determination.
If you have Temporary Lawful Status your license is valid until the end date of your lawful presence or;
If you have lawful temporary status, you may renew your driver’s license at any Indiana license branch up to 30 days before the license expires. An operator knowledge test is not required when you renew a driver’s license, unless you have accumulated six or more points on your driver record since your previous renewal, or your license has been expired for over 180 days.