
Indiana’s “Lemon Law” (The Motor Vehicle 
Protection Act) provides protection to Hoosiers 
who purchase vehicles that don’t meet certain basic 
standards.

You’re protected from defected vehicles

Indiana Lemon Law

What to do if you buy a lemon

•	 Report the problem within 18 months of initial ownership of the vehicle or before 
18,000 total miles, whichever comes first.

DID YOU BUY OR LEASE FOR PERSONAL USE: :

• A car or light truck?

• Within 18 months of the date the car initially left 

   the dealership?

• With less than 18,000 miles?

• From an Indiana dealer?

•	 Take your vehicle to an authorized dealer for repair.

•	 Allow the dealer a reasonable number of attempts to repair.  A reasonable number of 
attempts means your vehicle is subject to at least four repair attempts or is out of service 
due to repairs for at least 30 business days and the problem still exists.

•	 Request a copy of the written repair order every time you take your car to the dealer for 
repair or examination

•	 Per your owner’s manual or vehicle warranty, you may be required to send written notice 
of your problem, along with copies of all repair orders to the manufacturer at the address 
identified in the owner’s manual or vehicle warranty.

•	 If the manufacturer adopted an informal dispute procedure that has been certified by 
the attorney general, you must follow the procedure before you can file a lawsuit under the 
Lemon Law.

•	 If notice is NOT required and the manufacturer does not have an informal dispute 
procedure, you may file a lawsuit without notifying the manufacturer of your claim.

•	 The manufacturer has 30 days to accept return of your vehicle and, at your option, 
replace the vehicle or refund your money.
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•	 If the manufacturer does not resolve your claim, you must file a lawsuit within two years 
from the date you first reported the problem to the dealer. 

•	 If you win the lawsuit, you can recover all your costs and attorney fees.

Replaced or Repurchased vehicles?

The manufacturer is required to obtain a new title with a brand or stamp of “Manufacturer 
Buyback-Disclosure on File” for all vehicles replaced or repurchased under the Lemon Law.  
This stamp or brand should remain on the vehicle’s title for the life of the vehicle. The first 
time a dealer sells a replaced or repurchased lemon, the dealer must provide the buyer with: 

-  Written notice, at the time of sale, that the vehicle was repurchased or replaced under the 
Lemon Law

-  A 12-month or 12,000 mile manufacturer’s warranty

People failing to comply with the buy-back disclosure and title branding requirements 
are subject to enforcement action by the Attorney General’s Office. However, the Lemon 
Law does not permit the attorney general to represent consumers in seeking a refund or a 
replacement vehicle.


