

## Indiana State Excise Police News Release

302 West Washington Street, Room E112 ~ Indianapolis, IN 46204 Telephone: (317) 232-2469 ~ Fax: (317) 233-6114

Web Address: http://www.in.gov/isep

Release:

For Immediate Release

**Contact Person:** 

Officer Travis Thickstun 317-232-2469 or 317-691-5125

## **Indiana State Excise Police Announce Annual Awards**

**Indianapolis, Ind.** – The Indiana State Excise Police honored some of their own for outstanding achievements in 2010 at an awards ceremony in Indianapolis this afternoon.

Superintendent Matt Strittmatter presented the awards for Officer of the Year and Educator of the Year in 2010. Superintendent Strittmatter also announced the 2009 and 2010 Top Gun and Runner-Up awards for the most proficient officer with the department-issued Glock 22.

"The recipients of the awards today exemplify the character, integrity, and professionalism of the women and men serving as State Excise Police officers," Superintendent Strittmatter said. "I am honored to be serving the citizens of Indiana along with these outstanding officers."

The awards were as follows:

**2009 Top Gun:** Senior Officer Steven Toleos of Lebanon **2010 Top Gun:** Officer Travis Thickstun of Bloomington

Runners-Up (3-way tie):

Officer Keith Rinehart of Fort Wayne Sgt. William Turner of Farmersburg Officer William Watson of Carlisle

District #1 Officer of the Year: Kayla Dawson of Mishawaka

\*District #1 Educator of Year: M/Officer Michelle Traughber of New Carlisle\*

**District #2 Officer of the Year**: Officer Heather Lynch of Rome City

**District #2 Educator of the Year**: Lt. Brian Lang of Liberty

**District #3 Officer of the Year**: Officer Sanford Swanson of Lafayette **District#3 Educator of the Year**: Officer Emily Peek of Kokomo

**District #4 Officer of the Year**: Officer Travis Thickstun of Bloomington **District #4 Educator of the Year**: Officer Corbin Smith of Columbus

**District #5 Officer of the Year**: Officer Charles Butler of Newburgh **District #5 Educator of the Year**: Officer Matt Taylor of Newburgh

\*District #6 Officer of the Year: Officer Patrick Cousin of Indianapolis\* District #6 Educator of the Year: No award

\*Denotes Indiana State Excise Police Officer and Educator of the Year for the entire agency.

The Indiana State Excise Police is the law enforcement division of the Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission.