
 

APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYEE PERMIT 
State Form 43 (R23 / 7-24) 
Approved by State Board of Accounts, 2015 

INDIANA ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO COMMISSION 
302 West Washington Street, Room E-114 

Indianapolis, IN 46204 
(317) 232-2430 
www.in.gov/atc 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 1. Type or print legibly. 
    2. Include payment. 
    3. Employee permits are valid for three (3) years from the date of issuance. Volunteer employee permits and restricted employee   
            permits are valid for two (2) years from the date of issuance. 
    4. If you have questions, please contact Employee Permits at (317) 232-2455 or bartenders@atc.in.gov.  
 

* This agency is requesting disclosure of your Social Security Number in accordance with IC 4-1-8-1. Disclosure is mandatory and this record cannot be 
processed without it. 
 

SECTION 1: GENERAL INFORMATION 

Name of applicant (first, middle initial, last) Telephone number 
 

E-mail address 

Mailing address (number and street, city, state, and ZIP code) Permit number (if renewal) 

Social Security Number * Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Age 
 

 

Sex 
 

   Male   Female 

Driver license number / identification card number State where driver license or identification card was issued 

Application type 
 

    Employee Permit (3-year)    Volunteer Permit (2-year)    Restricted Employee Permit (18-20-year-olds) 

 
Name and address of permit premises where employee permit will be used (if known): 
 
 

 
 

 
If you are applying for a Volunteer Employee Permit, please list the name and address of the not-for-profit organization you will be serving: 
 
 

 

SECTION 2: BACKGROUND QUESTIONS 

2.1.  Are you aware that you must successfully complete an approved server training course within 120 days of employment? 
  (Not applicable for 18–20-year-old Restricted Employee Permit.) 

 Yes  No 

2.2.   Have you ever been convicted of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in Indiana or in any other state within the last 
  ten (10) years?  (If yes, please attach a letter with dates, court, conviction, and sentence information.) 

 Yes  No 

2.3.   Are you currently serving a sentence, including any term of probation, for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in 
  Indiana or another state? 

 Yes  No 

2.4.   Do you have any outstanding or unpaid tax liabilities owed to the Indiana Department of Revenue?   
  (If yes, you cannot have a permit until all liabilities have been paid.) 

 Yes  No 

2.5.   Have you ever had an alcoholic beverage permit or employee's permit denied, revoked, or suspended within the  
  last five (5) years and/or have you received a violation in the last five (5) years? (If yes, please attach an explanation.)  

 Yes  No 

2.6.   Have you ever held a driver’s license or state identification card in any state other than Indiana in the last ten (10) years?   
  (If yes, you must attach a copy of your driving record from each state.) 

 Yes  No 

2.7.   Do you understand that an excise officer may enter, inspect, and search the permit premises in which you work without a 
  warrant, and you must produce your employee permit on demand? 

 Yes  No 

2.8.  Do you understand that the alcoholic beverage laws are part of the criminal code and are enforceable by any law  
  enforcement officer in the State of Indiana? 

 Yes  No 

2.9.  Do you understand that this employee permit is yours and that your employer is only allowed to copy your employee  
  permit? 

 Yes  No 

2.10.  Do you know that it is a Class B Misdemeanor, punishable by up to six (6) months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine, to  
  knowingly serve or sell alcohol to an intoxicated person? 

 Yes  No 

http://www.in.gov/atc
mailto:bartenders@atc.in.gov


SECTION 3: RESTRICTED EMPLOYEE PERMITS 

To receive a Restricted Employee Permit, you must attach the original Certified Server Training Certificate issued to you at your training session. 
Photocopies will not be accepted. 

SECTION 4: FEE AND PAYMENT SCHEDULE 

 
Employee Permit – $45.00 

Volunteer Employee Permit – $15.00 
Restricted Employee Permit – $30.00 

 
Please note that employee permit fees are NON-REFUNDABLE. 

Payment must be made in the form of a business check, certified check, or money order made payable to the Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission. 
 

SECTION 5: SIGNATURE AND AFFIRMATION 

I certify that this application was completed by myself, and that all information provided herein and on any attachments is true and correct. I affirm under the 
penalties of perjury that I am at least eighteen (18) years of age. I UNDERSTAND THAT IT IS A FELONY UNDER LAW TO MISREPRESENT OR FALSIFY 
ANY PORTION OF THIS APPLICATION OR ATTACHED DOCUMENTS. 

Signature of applicant Date signed (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 
 
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

Operating while intoxicated (OWI) background check 

 
 No OWI   OWI Eligible   OWI Ineligible   No record on file 

 

Date(s) of conviction(s) (mm/dd/yyyy) Date eligible (mm/dd/yyyy) Revealed 

 Yes  No 

Initial Date (mm/dd/yyyy) 
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