Skip to content

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

< Back | Agency Home | Submit Events >

Search events. View events.

Natural Resources, Indiana Department of

Submit Events

Welcome to the Calendar. Please use the Help button to the right for any assistance while using the Calendar.

Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.

Advanced Search

(New Search)




Entry Details
Notify me if this event changes.Add this event to my personal calendar.Email this entry to a friend.
Go Back
[DNR] DNR State Parks & Reservoirs annual awards
Start Date: 3/14/2014Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 3/14/2014End Time: 11:59 PM
Entry Description
The DNR Division of State Parks & Reservoirs recently honored employees and volunteers for their commitment to conservation in 2013.

The Tulip Award, the highest honor within the division, went to John Bergman, assistant director for operations, for his leadership in administration, staff support and development and new initiatives such as mountain bike trails over his 42-year career.

Volunteer of the Year awards were presented to Tim Barnes for his construction and maintenance of Harmonie State Park mountain bike trails, and to Jon Chapman and John Wheeler who provided leadership in building a river overlook and other projects at Tippecanoe River State Park.

Three Partnership Awards were presented. The Falls of the Ohio Foundation received an award for raising $5.5 million for new exhibits in the Falls of the Ohio State Park interpretive center. Indiana Dunes Tourism and the Town of Porter were honored for leadership in connecting Indiana Dunes State Park to the South Shore commuter train station with the Dunes-Kankakee Trail. Pioneer Oil was honored for a donation to Harmonie State Park to replace its aging gatehouse.

Two Innovation and Leadership Awards honored creativity and problem-solving. The staff at Pokagon State Park was honored for redeveloping Oak Hill Camp into the new Trine State Recreation Area. The staff at Prophetstown State Park was honored for leadership in opening the Prophetstown Aquatic Center in summer 2013.

Two Property Achievement Awards honored work on special projects or initiatives. Recognition went to the staff at Lincoln State Park for building a new seawall on Lake Lincoln at half the cost of contracting the work. An award also was presented to the staff of Spring Mill State Park for managing park concessions for product suitability and customer service.

Property manager Vernon Gillum and the staff at Tippecanoe River State Park were recognized with a Natural Resource Management Award for promoting, managing and protecting natural resources through prescribed fires and the removal of invasive plants.

The Cultural Resource Management Award went to property manager Sam Boggs and the staff at Chain O’Lakes State Park for restoring the interior of the Stanley Schoolhouse, built in 1915 and located in the park.

The Inn Employee of the Year award went to Lou Huff and the staff of the Indiana Inns call center for customer service and supporting Mother Nature’s Mercantile, DNR’s online store.

The Director’s Award is offered to a person outside the division who supports State Parks & Reservoirs. It was presented to Greg Sorrels, director of assets and facility management, for coordinating capital/rehab funding, vehicle management and other administrative tasks for the division.

The division also recognized the winners of two awards presented earlier in the year. Brad Bumgardner of Indiana Dunes State Park received the Lucy Pitschler Award, presented to a full-time interpreter by his or her peers. Marjorie Hershman of Pokagon State Park received the Monarch Award, presented to a seasonal interpreter for outstanding service.

The division also awarded 95 employees with service milestone awards. Among those, Robert Felix, property manager at the Brookville Lake and Whitewater Memorial State Park complex received a 40-year service award; and Dennis Weber (Brookville/Whitewater complex), Jeff Cummings (Fort Harrison), Doug Baird (Brown County), Michael Dalgliesh (Clifty Falls), Howard Draving (Mississinewa Lake), Pam Wrightsman (Cecil M. Harden Lake), Ted Tapp (Mounds State Park), Mark Young (Spring Mill State Park) and Daryl Hildebrand (Brookville/Whitewater Complex) received awards for 35 years of service.
Contact Information:
Name: Ginger Murphy
Phone: (317) 232-4143
Entry Type:
Press Release
Entry Category:
Announcements Category:
  • Business & Agriculture
  • Visiting & Playing
  • Agency Name
    Natural Resources, Indiana Department of

    Calendar Software powered by Active Calendar and Active Data Calendar   
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search
    Select item(s) to Search

    Select item(s) to Search